Self-Care Strategies: 11 through 20

As the dial cranked up this week on the Stress-o-Meter, I activated my Self-Care Strategy.  Just as any good plan thrives on a dependable map, I continued working on laying out the possible stops along the journey to a more calm existence.  I had originally thought I might just develop the list, but when the dream of peace started to look like it might be closer in reach, I just decided to go for it.  Some of the strategies have been put in place, and they work.

A continuation of the Say Yes to Me Self-Care Strategy…

11. Take rejuvenation breaks at work.  This meant taking a few minutes to read an inspiring quote or tuning into my favorite Pandora station (Rasa).

12. Indulge the senses.  I live by a large body of water, but this week instead of driving by mindlessly, I rolled down the window, felt the wind on my skin, took in the smell of the fresh Gulf breeze, and watched the light dance on the waves.  I felt alive.

13.  Engage in independent study.  Just because I am not in school, I have not given up on being a student of life.  My mind enjoys playing connect the dots between my favorite interests.  I feel like a treasure hunter; finding myself is often the prize.

14.  When the work day is over, stop working.  How often do I find myself staying an extra 15 minutes, 30 minutes, hour or more?  This week I challenged myself to lay down the super hero cape.  When I take care of me, I am more capable of helping others.

15.  Ask for help.  I am an expert at trying to do things on my own.  Sometimes I am successful, sometimes not.  And often, either way, I am resentful that no one else is helping.  This week, I asked for help.  It was amazing how eager others were to join in.  And how much more peaceful I found in the doing.

16.  Be creative….just because.  Several years ago, I started a journey to work on my creativity.  Now, it is second nature.  But often, I spin my creative wheels for this project or that without utilizing the gift of creativity for myself.  Creating is a great way to express what is inside, organize complex feelings, or just lose oneself in the world of imagination for a bit.

17.  Practice re-framing.  Re-framing is a way of looking at something with fresh eyes.  This is a great tool to use when I am feeling judgmental of myself.  If I can simply find understanding and empathy for my situation, the judgment often dissipates.

18.  Make time to be alone.  Being busy can sometimes be a way of keeping myself from feeling what I am afraid to feel.  When I can create a few hours or an evening to myself to wind down, my true feelings will sometimes float to the top.  If I know I have this window of time set aside, I can deal with my feelings in small bundles so that they don’t fester up or explode when I least expect it.

19.  Make time for friends.  Even though the strategy is about making time for me, putting myself first does not mean always being alone.  In fact, sometimes I am more fully myself when in the company of others.  Connecting in nurturing, authentic ways feeds me.

20.  Make space for love.  Whether with a mate, a child, a parent, a friend, a stranger in need, or with myself, helping the heart give and recieve is essential to the thriving human condition.  This week I became curious about when I was holding back.  And if I found it was out of an old habit or a long over-due resentment, I considered opening up to new possibility.  When I let love in, it never let me down.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Self-Care and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

