Sweetness of Life

Maiah Albi created these little beauties.

Nearly 15 years ago, while in college pursuing a degree in theatre, I decided to cut back on sugar.  As part of the rehearsal regimen, actors and crew often took all the high energy necessary for performance out to a local all-night diner for coffee, pie, and the occasional plate of nachos.  Four years of plays meant a heck of a lot of late night munching and a sweet tooth gone wild.  Thus came the experiment with forgoing sugar.

It lasted just over a year.  When I decided to eat sugar again, I felt the pressure to eat it had subsided.  A few times since then, I have weened off sugar.

Recently, as I examined the foods that I eat so as to refine my choices, I realized that I had been living my life as a member of the food-plan-of-the-month club.  I had systematically narrowed what I could eat to such a narrow variety that I hated the feeling that came after eating….even after eating healthy meals.

I decided to throw out the playbook and rewrite the rules.  The journey has led me to explore a variety of foods that I hadn’t let myself enjoy in years.  Fruit suddenly became an option; grains and meat stopped competing for first place; green veggies weren’t the only thing on the menu.  The plan:  I would say yes to what I wanted and no to nothing.

With that, my desires for certain food changed.  I began to hear my own inner food guide. I still wanted sugar, but not just any sugary snack, my taste were more refined.  Okay, so I am no gourmet.  But I needed something more than what the Keebler Elves had to offer.

Enter Cafe Calypso.  My honey and I have been going to the cafe for years.  And for a long while, there has been this promise to have homemade baked goods.  Certainly there was a part of me dreading the day the yummies would arrive.  I love sweets, but don’t need them in my face constantly. So this Summer, the day DID arrive.  And with it, sugary,  scrumptious delicacies emerged.  I had to check my plan.  Could I eat them without thinking myself a bad person?  A new experiment with sugar developed.  But this time forgoing transformed into indulgence.

Indulgence was not so much about allowing myself a quantity of food; it was more about allowing myself the quality of the experience.  I casted shame aside and encouraged self-love.  Self-love became the voice of reason for me.  Is a bite of chocolate grounds for self-judgement?  Well, in the past it might have been.  Today, I have no rules except to choose what I eat and how much with my heart.  Would I deny myself the sweetness of life?  No, I deserve all the beauty this world has to offer.  And I am claiming what is mine one bite at a time.  That is part of the Art of Collecting Myself.

You know you wanna taste 'em!

You can find more Cafe Calypso creations at http://maiahintexas.blogspot.com/.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Self-Care, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweetness of Life

  1. Shae Mercury says:

    This is an excellent post and may be one that needs to be followed up to see what are the results

    A buddy mailed this link the other day and I will be excitedly hoping for your next write-up. Proceed on the first rate work.

  2. Jessica says:

    Those look sooooo good! And sunflower (seeds) are good for us right? 😉 I am glad to read this post and the freedom it inspires. There are times for adhering to rules and then there are times to change those rules. Thanks for reminding us that self-love and enjoying life are priorities that should be at the top of the list!

Leave a Reply

