Where Dreams Come True

As I contemplate who I might feature in my first Creativity Spotlight, I don’t have to look very far.  My own family is crammed (I say this with much respect and love) with creative people doing creative things. And shining brightly at this moment is my sister-in-law, Erica Duff of Duff Creations.

Erica is a mother of two energetic, loving kiddos (and wife to an awesome husband) who finds the time and energy to develop her growing craft business.  She does this between trips to the beach for surfing and excursions into the countryside or to the river. Busy, busy family.

Earlier I mentioned that Erica is shining brilliantly right now.  Some years ago, Erica had a dream. And upon waking, she drew out its images and wrote the story of the dream.  It became a family bedtime book called Wonder and, then, a gift for Grandma.

But the artwork and the story were so charming that others wanted the book.  So this Summer, Erica began sharing this family gem with others.  The results are a ricochet of interests.  As one person shares this little book with another, the person often wants one for themselves and another to share with their favorite child.

The book is created on chip board with copies of the original pictures drawn by Erica.  She incorporates ribbons and binds it with little rings.  The drawings are organic and fun.  The story is whimsical and dream-like.

I recently got my own copy of Wonder.  It feels special when I hold this handmade treasure because it is easy to understand the attention to detail that went into its making.  And although it is significant to have a book made by such a dear member of the family and someone I consider a friend, this art book could easily become an heirloom for anyone’s family. I immediately came home and placed mine next to my collection of classics.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creativity Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where Dreams Come True

  1. Jessica says:

    I love this! I’m really intrigued by the title and will have to check it out on Etsy. Thanks for sharing.

  2. kelly says:

    What an inspiring story. it’s so sweet the book she created and the fact that people are “ordering” copies…defintely to become a family heirloom!!

Leave a Reply

