Down and dirty? Count me in!

Several years ago if I wanted friends and family to know what was going on in my creative life, I might cruise down to the local nuevo-hippie cafe, jump on the open mic and bust it out in verse and rhyme. Later, over a chai latte, I might pull out a few of the latest wire works I had whipped up while watching TV or listening to a CD.  My family would see the products of my time away from them as we sat down to Sunday brunch on the back porch at Dad’s house.

But now days, the cafe has closed.  The friends have scattered to the four corners.  Family has doubled in size with the addition of my honey-of-a-hubby. And TV and CD have been replaced by the occasional peak at Netflix or Hulu and the daily fixation of Pandora.

So how do I share the culmination of my creative self-expression?  The same way everyone does.  On that virtual town square, Facebook.

I noticed the last several weeks as I have posted my blog on my personal FB a feeling of uncertainty.  Is this the way to let friends know about this part of my life?  Am I promoting more than my ideas?  As I began linking my blog to my Etsy site, the answer resounded with a definite, YES!

So this evening, I did what any respectable business owner would do, I opened a FB biz page, Creativity Tribe.

As Mary Catherine Lunsford with Hide-a-Heart assures fledgling Etsy enterprisers, there is a metamorphosis that happens as one crafts ideas they have into a full-fledged business.  I know there are capable coaches with beaucoup solutions for yielding results I ultimately want.  But I am willing to ride the learning curve for a bit longer as I figure this out on my own.

In the mean time, look for me to make a mess of things before I get it right. That is what creativity is about.  And that is what makes life feel BRILLIANT to me.  Who needs tidy and safe when getting down and dirty is an option?Not me!

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in The Business of Business and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Down and dirty? Count me in!

  1. hideaheart says:

    Dear Rae,
    I’m going to enjoy checking in on your posts to watch the progress of your learning curve…I know my own curve, as I said in the first HIDE A HEART blog post, “has been straight to Mars!” but I LOVE living in the right brain so it’s no problem!
    I wish you the Best of Creative Creating!
    FYI: Your wink to HIDE A HEART is now posted in the HAH blog HERE Cross-promotion is PRICELESS!
    Thank You!
    MCatherine

  2. I don’t spend much time on Facebook these days, but I logged in and “liked” your page! Once show/fair season is over (mid November), I’ll be on the internet much more. I look forward to getting to know you better through Wishcrafting Wednesday and Facebook.

Leave a Reply

