Wishcasting Wednesday: What I want less of

As a young lady of 21, I dreamed of stepping out on my own.  My wedding was just months away and life was mine for the living.  One fateful afternoon, I lost my mother.  First to a coma and then to the permanency of death.  Suddenly the field of possibility had a gashing hole in it. Or at least it seemed.

Life as I knew it spun out of control.  The loss of my mother shifted the relationships I had with others in my life.  The grief felt like poison, and all I knew changed forever.

This week was the 20th anniversary of her death.  I have grown in leaps and bounds from that naturally naive young woman.  I have blossomed into a soulful and centered goddess.  My relationship with life is full bodied, and my relationship with death steady and grounded.

But as this Wishcasting Wednesday comes around, I can’t help but want my wish to help shift even further the learned conditioning that came with the event. Jamie Ridler, our wishcast prompting patroness, has guided the wishcasters to query what it is we wish for less of.

Looking back over my life without Mom, I leee glaring boundaries which I have placed on myself- perceived inequities and incapabilities which beckon me to step outside the bounds of my limitations and into the realm of potentiality. “Let go,” they chant.  “Let go and be curious.”

What if…

  • What if I could live as if I had never lost?
  • What if I could forgive?
  • What if I knew myself to be more capable than I sometimes think I am?
  • What if looking at the places that scared me or limited me actually allowed a new way of being?
  • What if that way of being is worth the risk of believing in it?
  • What if my story is beautiful and inspiring?
  • What if I let go of the “I loss my mom and so I am wounded” label?
  • What if I lived from “I have been inspired to live a beautiful life because of the living expression of grace that I continue to experience in a life which honors an on-going relationship in spirit with my mom”?
  • What if I am healed?

What do I wish for less of?

Limits, labels, and the presumption that I know how it will all turn out.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Wishcasting Wednesday: What I want less of

  1. Oh, Rae, I’m so sorry to read that you lost your mom at such an early age. My mother just made her transition a few months ago, and I’m still reeling some times. I know it must be difficult to have gone through so much of your life without her. ***HUG*** Great “what if” list!

    As Rae wishes for herself, so do I lovingly and enthusiastically wish for her also!

    • Rae says:

      Thank you Cindy. Yes, I remembered that you have recently lost your mom. I thought of you and of her as I wrote this. They say it gets easier. And it does. For me too, it just shifts around. My life with my mom was sometimes like water…boiling hot, icy cold, and just right (as relationships with Moms and Daughters are). Now days it is like mist. She is still there, just in a different way.

  2. Amy says:

    As you wish so I wish for you.

  3. Grace says:

    As you wish for yourself, Rae, I wish for you as well.

    Your wish immediately brought to mind that Joseph Campbell quote “We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us.”

    Great post!

  4. Florida Ciny says:

    Rae,
    Your entry is the best I’ve read so far……Your thoughts are clear and concise. Your wishes will be granted. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also.

  5. Suzie Ridler says:

    As Rae wishes, I wish for her also.

    I am so sorry for your loss. May you find peace and liberation so you may continue to live fully and beautifully.

  6. Stefanie says:

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well.

    May she find the healing she seeks.

    Peace and love

  7. Marilyn says:

    what a beautiful set of wishes. and that’s a gorgeous photo. as you wish for yourself, i wish for you also.

  8. Jennifer says:

    As Rae wishes for herself, so do I wish for her.

    Great post – very hard stuff you are working on. I am so sorry about the loss of your mom.

  9. LissaL says:

    I truly am sorry to hear about your mother’s passing. No one can understand a loss of that magnitude until they have been there themselves.

    As Rae wishes, I fervently wish for her also.

  10. Tara Joyce says:

    Rae,

    Thanks so much for the comment on my blog and for helping to spread the Innerpreneur movement. It’s great to meet you and learn about your work. I’m already loving the Graphics Fairy… thanks for the link!

    Wishing you much growth on your Innerpreneurial journey,

    Tara

  11. BunnyKissd says:

    As you wish for yourself, I too wish for you. I’ve been trying to have less of the limits and labels, and more of just being in the moment and BEing…

    • Rae says:

      That is a great reminder. I think I will apply that to this. I do it in other places in my life, but this is another place that I think it could be VErY helpful.

  12. Tee says:

    Hi Rae, what beautiful & inspiring wishes! *hugs* ♥Tee

  13. Kim says:

    What a strong, powerful wish. As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well.

  14. Lucy says:

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  15. Carola Bartz says:

    Loosing you mom when you were so young must have been heartbreaking. I lost my mom when I was 47 and I still miss her. I still would like to ask her so many questions.
    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well.

Leave a Reply

