Autumn Equinox: In the Spirit of the Spiral

Six years ago on the Autumn Equinox (the time, when towards the end of the year, the light and the dark of our days is perfectly balanced) I set out on a camping trip with a group of friends who do Medieval Reenactments.  I was dressed as a Romani (Gypsy) woman and told a tale of following ones heart during the bardic circle that first evening.  As I went to sit down, I noticed a man watching me.  He later asked to sit next to me.  And as the evening passed, I found we had a lot in common.  That was the night I met my husband.

This year’s Autumn Equinox marks our 6th year together.  It is a time that we try always to celebrate.  Often we fudge the actual date to wait for that first night of the year in which a cool front blows through.  This year we found ourselves in Seattle, Washington on the Equinox. The day before, we spent the afternoon driving through mountainous terrain, visiting Puget Sound, and resting in the charm of the quaint little town where one of our favorite love stories (Practical Magic) was filmed.

The next day, a quick trip to Pike Place Market sent our creativity swirling.  With nature at our fingertips and a raven in ear’s shot, we crafted a bit of enchantment for ourselves. We created a spiral, a sort of labyrinth, big enough to walk.

My hubby and I are both artist.  We aren’t picky about the kind of media we work with.  In fact, as a theatre brat, I fancy myself an artist of time and space.  I like to make events happen that express an intention I might have.  The spiral was the perfect event.

During the week, hubby and I had felt very high emotions: delight, awe, overwhelming love for the Earth and all its inhabitants. I had personally felt something stirring inside me…the seeds of change had begun to take root.  The trip had been a big emotional investment for me.  I felt vulnerable traveling outside my comfort zone.  I have not been one to travel much and being a full-figured woman, had felt anxiety about facing the size-sensitive airline industry and health conscious states of Oregon and Washington (for more about that, check out Fat Girl in a Fit City). But I had begun to risk.  And the risking felt good.  I was ready to move my risk-taking-spirit from the inside to the outside.

The spiral is a perfect symbol for that.  From creating the spiral by sweeping a path and adjusting the edges so it flowed just right to choosing a thought to carry with me to its center and back out again, it offered a way to make the internal external.  That way it could become more than me.  I could share it with the world.

So I created a simple, yet powerful event to ceremoniously celebrate what was going on in my heart.  My hubby joined in.  The spiral became a very powerful tool for transformation for us.  I say powerful because it was filled with meaning and heralded change in us individually and as a couple.  Change, like the turning of the seasons.  Those things in us that needed to come into balance did.

I have documented our spiral so that I could share it with you.  I invite you to leave an intention for yourself in the comment section below. Won’t you share the spirit of the spiral with us?

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Autumn Equinox: In the Spirit of the Spiral

  1. Rae says:

    Feel free to share an intention you might have for change or affirmation. I will hold the space for it with you.

  2. Rae says:

    (From my hubby) Thank you for that wonderful journey into the mystic
    You are a beautiful spirit Rae.

  3. Jessica says:

    This is a great idea. I intend for myself to create balance within and balance without. This requires accepting certain limitations but moving beyond others. It also requires finding the nutritional tools that will work for both my body and my 9 month old’s body (since I’m breastfeeding).

  4. Grace says:

    Oh, Rae…Your post absolutely touched me on so many levels. First of all, the fact that you have a partner so in tune with you and your spirituality is very inspiring…I long for that myself (I have someone in my life – but our ‘paths’ are very different…)

    So here is my intention: I intend to be true and transparent to my spiritual path, knowing that those who support me will stay, and those who don’t – will be gently removed.

  5. rae says:

    Thank you for sharing so honestly.

    Grace, as you intend for yourself, I wholeheartedly intend for you also.

  6. rosemary says:

    there are such happy tears streaming down from within…

Leave a Reply

