A Powerful Perspective

My newest spot for inspiration on the web is at Jamie Ridler Studios.  Jamie is a master at eliciting creative connection…connection with other creatives and connection with the self.  Today, she has linked up with one of the people who has historically been a great source of inspiration for me, Oprah.  Jamie explains that in Oprah’s magazine, O, Oprah explored the subject of personal power by asking her contributors to finish this statement, “I felt most powerful when…” Jamie shared her response and has asked the same of her readers.

For me, a few moments in my life have come to mind.  But one stood out.  Some years ago, I struggled with debilitating back pain.  At the worst of it, I spent a week living on my couch because sitting and standing were nearly impossible.  I am not sure what caused the pain.  But I do remember a moment so powerful that it seemed to propel me towards my healing.

Laying on the couch one day, I began to feel about as helpless and hopeless as I had at any point in my life.  I could feel myself grieving the freedom of movement I had enjoyed when my back was healthy.  And as I began dreaming on the best of my body’s memories, something happened.  I grasped onto HOPE.  I found myself envisioning the day when I would be there in my living room, moving to the rhythm of world beat music.  I imagined feeling the familiar tip and drop of my dancing hips, the wiggle in thighs and spark in my eyes.  And then I felt myself so fully in that place of potential that my perspective switched.  No longer was I the wounded woman grasping for hope, but now I seem to be the dancer exuding gratitude for the journey she had made out of the pain.

In that moment of hope and thankfulness, I found power again.  And although the journey off the couch didn’t happen over night, it did happen.  And on one afternoon when the house was quiet, I was all by myself.  I stepped into that room where hope first found me.  I put on a beat with a bit of earthiness to it, and I danced my gratitude.  My back was as quiet as the house. And although no one was in there with me, I was not alone.  The woman on the couch (my wounded self) was my witness, and she watched as I dance a dance of healing for her.  And somehow, although it seems a bit backwards, I felt like that dance helped heal her….the way her hope had healed me.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Powerful Perspective

  1. Dear Rae….
    I am thankful for reading your story…and it invites me to shift from my perspective as well….to a place of hope… “sustained” hope and vision…and embodiment of it all. That’s quite impressive, and inspiring that your inner-resolve shifted you into a place of healing, hope, encouragement and celebration. I’ve been trying to ignite and live from that space for many years. Reading your story invites curiosity of spirit for me… and so.. I begin again… to reach out and touch the vision and feeling of complete well-being, joy, celebration and contentment. Thank you.

    • Rae says:

      Cheryl… “curiosity of spirit”…beautiful. Thank you for your response. I am humbled. I would love to keep up with how your journey is going.

  2. Grace says:

    How wonderful that you reached that miraculous place of HOPE and what a powerful act of faith. Thank you for sharing it with us.

    • Rae says:

      Thank you for dropping by, Grace. The shift in perspective felt like a miracle in my life. I know miracle is a big word. But it was so unexpected and so powerful.

  3. I loved reading this and thinking back on times when dancing was what healed me, what let me purge everything I was keeping locked in. I am in such a day to day, hour to hour, minute to minute existence with the baby, but I long to bring dance back into my life. I have hope, like you, and my soul takes moments to dance while my mind goes to that place of visions, knowing sometime soon I’ll have the time and space to find hope and belief in my body again. Thanks for sharing.

    • Rae says:

      Jessica, you were the one who awakened dance in me after it had slumbered for so long. Thanks for sharing about your love of dance and its ability to heal you. When you have dance, you have help many women heal themselves!

  4. Pingback: Back to Fit | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

