Wishcasting Wednesday: Connecting with the One Tender Moment

Jamie Ridler’s Wishcast Wednesday asks, “What does the soft animal of your body wish for?”  She references Mary Oliver’s poem Wild Geese.  When I checked in to see what my body wished for.  I remembered having checked that way on a recent trip to Portland, Oregon.  If you hang around my blog enough, you will know the trip had quite a hold on me.  I had the opportunity to attend a mediation workshop there that blended traditional mindfulness mediation with writing.  What I learned there is what the soft animal of my body wishes for.

My story… The trip was spurred by my participation in the Association for Creativity in Counseling Conference.  I kicked myself into overdrive to accomplish everything I need to get to the conference, present, and be ready to vacation for a week.  This left me both sizzling with anxiety and dancing in excitement.  My mind was drizzled with expectation and overgrown with the rush of doing more and being more.  No judgement.  Just busy, exciting, thrilling and new.  Whew!

Some of the conference highlights for me were the workshops.  One of the sessions that stands out (and there were many) was Writing as Meditations with Tara M. Ford.  It tamed my wild mind and helped me to connect with the drop of sacred nestled in the mundane that I too-often overlook.

The workshop… You might imagine a story about losing yourself in the rush of living might begin with me being late for the workshop.  Rushing in, I quickly caught up with the invitation for each of us to check in with ourselves.  Breathe…release….and return to discuss my perception and their perceptions. My perception?  Fog, a bit of anxiety, and almost endless mind-chatter.

New instructions….go into a memory. A positive memory…or…a neutral memory.  And experience it again, trying to engage it with all the senses.  I had one in mind.

It was a moment when I had been tired the day before. I had been studying, trying to make sense of the incomplete information I had in front of me.  And my foot had begun to hurt from the walking (running around) I had done earlier.  My husband had come to comfort me.  I remember being surprised.  Not that he had comforted me, but surprised in the way that you are when something slow moves across a speeding surface.  I was the speeding and he was the slow.  In fact, I was so fast that I almost never realized it happened.  I went to that sliver of a memory for the workshop, but my mind chattered on as my thoughts danced around with the breath, trying to focus and get centered.

When we came back from our meditation, we were invited to write.  As I put the pen to the paper, something finally shifted.  I became as focused as the felt tip which moved across the page.  The chatter fell away, and poetry emerged.

The moment, which had only actually lasted a minute or less, was now so full that I knew it would be one of the brighter memories in this trip.  And not because the others were dull.  Oregon and Washington are spectacular.  This memory would shine because I had revisited it, slowed it down, and examined it with mindfulness.

The workshop offered me a way to dive into the day and connect with the one tender moment that I too easily took for granted and pushed aside in an effort to get to the next big moment.  This meditation paired with writing is a tool for helping to bring more meaning into my life.  And the ironic part is that I don’t have to do much of anything special.  Just choose a simple moment in my day, sit with it in meditation, and write.  It gives the moment more life…and my life more meaning.

And it is there that the soft animal of my body purrs with delight.  It wants not much more than for me to be present with it.  To be acknowledged and witnessed.

The poem…

you are moving across the room

intent

moving closer to me

and i am surprised

moving closer to me

on your knees

closer to me

talking sweet

closer to me

to the pain in my foot

closer to me

cheek to my arch

closer to me

lips to my flesh

closer to me

warm touch, warm breath

closer to me

your heart reaching out

closer to me

my heart reaching in

closer to me

to grasp the place that hurts

and meet you there

closer to me

i’ll let you care

closer to me

let you in

closer to me

sit right here

closer to me

pulling the automatic push

out from the past

closer to me

and into a present

presence

closer to me

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living, Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Wishcasting Wednesday: Connecting with the One Tender Moment

  1. What a wonderful post Rae. And a beautiful poem.
    As you wish for yourself I so wish for you also

  2. Lynn says:

    Terrific post. Thank you for sharing your poem. It’s wonderful. And I especially liked “sizzling with anxiety and dancing with excitement”. It’s exactly the way I have been feeling lately. As you wish for yourself, Rae, so I also wish for you.

  3. GlendaM says:

    Beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well.

  4. Jennifer says:

    Beautiful poem and post! Thank You for sharing this. As you wish for yourself I so wish for you also

  5. Lucy says:

    Great Poem. As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  6. Such a sweet tribute to the relationship you have with your loved one.
    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  7. Tery says:

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well.

  8. Holly says:

    “The drop of sacred nestled in the mundane” what a lovely image! Beautiful post.

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well.

  9. Shari says:

    Awesome! What a reminder for all of us to slow down and notice the small bits of wonderful in our lives. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also.

  10. Stefanie says:

    As Rae wishes to be present, so I wish for her, and for all of us, as well.

  11. Jo Anna says:

    What an amazing, magical and perfect post. Thank you!
    As Rae wishes for herself, I wish for her as well.

  12. Karen D says:

    What a beautiful poem, filled with the love and care you experienced in that moment.
    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  13. Marilyn says:

    beautiful. as Rae wishes for herself, i wish for her also.

  14. This is incredibly touching and galvanizing…thank you for sharing…

    As you wish for yourself, I so wish for you as well.
    Tabitha

    http://theknittingjourneymanrefitted.wordpress.com/

  15. Kim says:

    So lovely, Rae. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you as well.

  16. Mare says:

    That was great and I loved the poem.

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also!

  17. Wow, I felt my energy increase as I read your post … sounds wonderful! I’m wondering whether you had a great vacation after the conference!

    I love your poem … and the photographs … and your journey.

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also,
    Jane

  18. MaryK says:

    ‘Just choose a simple moment in my day, sit with it in meditation, and write.’
    What a wonderful way to bring more meaning to your day by meditating on those simple gifts that are too often taken for granted. I’m glad you went to the workshop and then shared this with us..so simple, so divine.
    As Rae wishes for herself, I wish for her also.

  19. Rebecca says:

    Wonderful post! As you wish for yourself I wish for you also.

  20. carol says:

    So lovely to read your post and your beautiful poem, thankyou for sharing as you wish for yourself i wish for you also x

  21. Pingback: Finding my Tribe: 2010 in review | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

