Wishcasting Wednesday: What do you wish to enjoy?

My heart has been filled with wishes today.  They started there…in the center of my chest where hopes and dreams collide, and floated up into my head til I was overflowing inside.

Happy Wishcasting Wednesday!  For all you Wish Makers who have followed me over from Jamie Ridler Studio, I welcome you.  Pull up a star and make yourself at home.  My blog is your blog!  For those who are visiting, unaware of what has become one of the most delightful rituals of my week, there is plenty of room on the walls for flowers, flies, and passer-by’s.  Welcome all!

Jamie poses the question today….What do you wish to enjoy?  The answer has been with me all day.  I have obsessed over it…in the most delightful way.  It has been my retreat in times of stress and my promise as I think of the weeks and months ahead.

I wish to enjoy the Holidays.  Not just have a good time…not just come home with arms wrapped around loads of unwrapped goodies….no.  This year, I want to understand first-hand the core meaning of that word….enJOY. Joy comes from Old French.  It means to feelings of pleasure and delight.

How many years have I gotten taken down by the societal stresses that accompany the Holidays.  There are the expectations balanced with obligations….the needs of self pushing against the influence of the culture.  But to enjoy the Holidays…to make a conscious effort to ensue them with pleasure and delight…..that is a craft….and a gift.

Some years ago, I began a tradition that I have been thinking about all day.  It is one of my all-time favorite ways to deLIGHT in the Holidays.  I was knee deep in grad school, studying counseling.  I had made a decision early in school that I would make self-care a priority.  So in the midst of mid-terms, I began imagining the relief of the up-coming break.  And in my imaginings, I found myself more stressed than renewed by all the obligations.  Money was tight and so was time…I already felt like I was at my wits end.

So I decided to set my intention to deLIGHT in the Holidays by have a party just before Thanksgiving.  I invited some of my friends, old and new.  We took religious candles from the grocery store, stripped them of their icons, and made them our own.  Each woman contemplated the feelings they wanted to have illuminate the Season.  Some chose a religious focus, some spiritual, others chose relational.  I chose personal…self-care.

 

My original Illuminata candle.

 

I called it an Illuminata Ceremony.  Each of us deciding what we wished to be the guiding light of our Thanksgiving, our Christmas…Solstice…. Hanukkah…and New Year. Some friends shared afterwards that they lit the candle every day; others reported having carried the candle with them from home to work and out to play.  Mine sat on the ledge near my bath where I could see it in the morning as I dressed and light it at night as I retreated from the day.

This weekend will be my Illuminata Ceremony.  It has been calling to me as a reminder to choose JOY this year.  Tis the Season.  And this year my gift to myself will be to indulge in pleasure and delight.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Wishcasting Wednesday: What do you wish to enjoy?

  1. Sarah Lulu says:

    I choose joy too. *smile* We don’t celebrate thanksgiving in Australia …but I wish you a wonderful tradition!

    As you wish for yourself I so lovingly wish this for you also. xx

  2. Lucy says:

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you.

  3. Amy says:

    What a great wish and a wonderful party. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you!

  4. Googlover says:

    That sounds amazing. I love ceremonies and candles. What a niffy idea. As you wish, so I wish for you.

  5. Wow! I love this idea of an illuminata ceremony. Such light and yes, such joy!

    As Rae so wishes, I wish for her also….

  6. Pamela Sweet says:

    What a fantastic wish! The holidays can definitely be stressful and some self-care is much needed. I love the idea of your Illuminata Ceremony and would like to try it with my loved ones. Thank you so much for sharing it with us!

    As Rae wishes for herself, so do I wish for her also. My your holidays be truly blessed!

  7. Grace says:

    Wow, you are SO creative! I love your ceremonial idea!! You know, I think there is a wave growing…more and more of us that want to ‘check out’ of stress of the pressures put onto us by our cultural, regarding all sorts of things – including how we spend the holidays. Good for you!

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well!

    Shine on!

  8. Kim says:

    What a fantastic wish! I am going to borrow your candle idea–thank you!

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well.

  9. Mare says:

    That’s a great wish!

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well.

  10. MaryK says:

    What a wonderful thoughtful tradition you’ve created!
    As Rae wishes for herself, so do I wish for her as well.

  11. Bev Baird says:

    As Rae wishes for herself, I wish for her also.
    I chose to focus on the holidays as well! Great wish! Hope your ceremony on the weekend is blessed!

  12. Paula says:

    Thank you for the inspiration and the reminder of the importance of selfcare in being joyful. As you wish for yourself, I also wish for you.

Leave a Reply

