Measuring Up….thoughts about weight loss.

Welcome to the playground, kids!  This is where I have been hanging out.  Over here, we have the see-saw…and over there, the merry-go-round…there is the slide….and there, the swings.

This last year, I have been working on losing weight.  And in all honestly, I have lost weight, maybe 30 lbs….depending on what day you ask.  But I haven’t lost with the gusto I want.  There are these pesky 6 pounds I slide between….see-sawing up and down….round and round…swinging back and forth.  And it is not much fun.

This week I have been doing so much RIGHT.  You know eating well and moving…and the scale doesn’t budge. There must be a wall in this playground somewhere…cuz I keep hitting it.  I hit my low the day of graduation.  And have only seen it once since.

But with everything I am doing, I FEEL good…I feel alive.  I think one of the big differences between this week and others is that I haven’t been WORKING at weight loss, I have been PLAYING.  I have been goofing around…riding thru town like a kid on my bike…dancing when I hear music….and allowing myself some healthy sweetness…like exotic fruits and healthy versions of desserts.  I mean, isn’t that what life is about…enjoying yourself?

I have to make that what I reach for…not just a number on the scale.  That feeling of aliveness and vitality is what my goal has to be.  But the idea isn’t new…I know this.  I just forget and get caught up in the tidal wave of media hype about body and diet, image and fashion.  What I want this coming year to focus on (is it too early to start exploring resolutions for the New Year?) ….to focus on a play-full, joy-full, vital kind of living.  This year’s focus has to be LIVE LIFE not to measure the life I live.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Self-Care, wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

