Wishcasting Wednesday: What do you wish to celebrate?

Do you ever wish you had a practice in your life?  Meditation or exercise…something that called you on a regular basis to show up to yourself?  One of my practices is Wishcasting.  On Wednesdays, Jamie Ridler Studios offers a prompt which invites anyone who wants to wish to post their contribution and to support the wishes of the others who show up.  It has become an integral part of my week.

This week, I have been eagerly waiting for Jamie’s question.  What do you wish to celebrate?

I needed this prompt this week.  I needed to ask myself this.  I have been faced with a possible health concern that could be pretty serious.  And as I come to the crossroads where more is to be revealed, I am waiting in limbo. “What will happen” is less important in these days of ambiguity then “How will I handle it”?  In fact, I might usually cuss and kick at the idea of not knowing my Fate immediately, but I am using this time to determine what exactly is important to me and what is not.

So as Jamie asks this week’s query, I have to acknowledge that I wish to celebrate my gift of creativity. And yes, some days that means celebrating that I can make a kid squeal with delight as they see the something special I can make out of pipe cleaners.  And yes, it might also mean being able to make a motorcycle cop’s jaw drop with the performance of a single poem.  But what I most revere of my own creativity  is how I apply it to life, as if life is something to be sculpted and spattered with color, torn with intention along a designated line and crumpled up just so it has MORE texture and MORE interest…how I craft the words and ideas so that they too add to the story until the images, symbols, movement, and magic all collapse in ecstasy at the edge of the stage floor whispering breathlessly, “we gave all we had to give, making all we could make of ourselves.”  I wonder sometimes if others might think that I over think things.  But I don’t know how to do life any other way.  And to be honest, I wouldn’t have life without all these tasty layers.

So, here is to celebrating my creativity! Dynamic, sultry creature that it is.  It defines me so much that I wouldn’t know how to be without it.

And for those of you who believe in prayer or simply keeping a sister close to your heart, you might think of me this week.  The details aren’t important, I just hope I can face what might come with grace and courage…and of course, celebration.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living, Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Wishcasting Wednesday: What do you wish to celebrate?

  1. Nolwenn says:

    Hi Rae !

    What a wonderful gift to celebrate… creativity 🙂

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  2. Beautifully written. I celebrate your creativity too Rae. My prayers are with you as you face what might come. May love and light surround you– and as you wish for yourself so I wish for you also.

  3. Yolanda says:

    Great wish Rae, may we all celebrate your creativity with you, as Rae wishes for herself I wish for her also.

  4. GlendaM says:

    You will definitely be in my thoughts and prayers Rae. Take good care of yourself and celebrate this week.

    As Rae wishes for herself, so do I wish for her as well.

  5. Missy says:

    I loved this post! As you go forward into your week, I hope you get what you are in need/search of. As Rae wishes for herself, I wish for her also.

  6. Ellie Di says:

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well!

  7. Googlover says:

    That is such a loving wish. I hope that you get some good news soon about your situation, too.
    As you wish, so I wish for you, too.

  8. Marilyn says:

    i *love* the art on this post, and what a beautiful, heartfelt post it is. here’s to your creativity and to your health. sending you love and light. as you wish for yourself, i wish for you also.

    p.s. i hadn’t thought of Wishcasting as a practice, but it is…thanks for reminding me of that.

  9. Gina says:

    Wonderful post! Living creatively is a challenge….your words are a beautiful tribute to that. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also. p.s. I totally forgot about polyvore.
    I love your collage.

  10. Praying and wishing, wishing and praying… and sending oodles of love.

    As beloved Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    Feel my arms reaching out and holding you in a hug…

  11. Greetings Fae,

    You’re definitely in my thoughts and I’m sending lots of good spirits, jujus, mantras, pixies, boo boo fix-it paste, and anything that comes to mind barreling towards you today in the hopes that you can find something in the debris to hold onto and use (I’m just visualizing the crumpling up, paint spattered chaotic mess of a life you described so vividly-it’s perfect) Your creativity and the way you described the world as you see it makes me want to laugh and cry and jump and wheel around in circles with my arms stretched out till I fall into a heap of colored streamers and dizzy giggles. Celebrating you (since I image you as just creative fire sprite) is the best thing I can think of today. My wishes are here.

  12. Grace says:

    It would be an honor to pray for you! Thank you for sharing this with us.

    You ARE an amazingly talented woman! Sometimes I come here and my eyes just pop at the graphics. I would like to “steal” the bottom one on todays post, to make as my desktop – it struck me that much 🙂

    I celebrate your creativity – and your LIFE! with you today!

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.

    And may you be filled with health, well being, and peace. Amen.

    • Rae says:

      Grace, that is so funny. I stole it from myself to put it on my desk top at work today. It is nice, huh. Steal away, sistah. Glad to have inspired! And thanks for the support. it means a lot.

  13. Shannon says:

    You are in my thoughts. What a beautiful site you have.
    Here’s to the power of wishing. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  14. Sara Rae says:

    To start, I love your name. 😉 As you wish, I wish for you also. Here’s to the power of wishing, prayer, creativity and community.

    • Rae says:

      Thanks Sara Rae…I like your name too. And thanks for your comment. I especially felt the community part today. That is one reason I like Wishcasting.

  15. Rebekah says:

    Huh. Your name is my middle name. *waves* 🙂

    Creativity is definitely something to celebrate! How boring would life be without it? Also, sending love and light for what may come for you.

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish also.

  16. Pingback: Full Frost Moon Dreamboard | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

