New Eyes

I once went on a field trip with a college art class. I was nervous because I ended up riding with the art teacher.  He was cool…and handsome.  I didn’t know what to say. But as we drove along the coastline to our sandy destination, he pointed out colors and textures.  Look there at the purple in the grasses. I had only seen brown. Then, the golds came to life.  I realized as we drove that I was seeing in a way I had never seen before. I found beauty where there had been none.

I felt as if I had been blind for years, living in a muted world.  I wanted to know the world I had been sleeping in.  So I pulled my new eyes into every situation I could imagine.

First in art class.  Lines were no longer flat pathways that guided my sight like an inked line on a paper map. They were the edges of a container, a series of points in space.  And they weren’t on the same plane, even if their destination was a drawing, they had depth; they had shape.  I felt more interested in life than I had ever felt before.

Later, I used my eyes to look at my loved ones.  Had their body always had that curve, that spot, that texture? Had that smooth, shallow valley always rested near my lover’s eye?

As my physical eyes matured, I discovered that my mental eyes did too.  Suddenly I was solving problems in new ways, approaching situations with a different perspective and sometimes several perspectives.  I felt alive and more in the world than I ever had.

My life has become a new-perspective kind of trip.  Six years ago, I met a man.  He was quiet at first and a bit shy.  But, I could see the depth, could sense more than what appeared at first glance.  It didn’t take long for the golds to appear, the purples and blues, the yellow, and the fiery reds.  And he saw more to me than the untrained eye might have seen.  He too is an artist.

We have made a life together of tuning in with a full perspective.  And much like the trip I took with the art teacher, we take time to view life with a train eye.  Somehow, it seems that by looking for what others might not detect, we have allowed one another to live a more authentic and vibrant life with shared eyes for finding beauty, interest, and oddity….A life lived in full color and expanded dimension.


 

 

 

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

