Holiday Cheer Mandala

My first attempt at making art outside of an arts and crafts class as a child was in college.  I hadn’t taken art classes or even  considered that I might be visually artistic.  I was a theatre girl.  Something made me sign up for it as my first elective, and I was hooked.  My mom and brother were the artists in the family.  So even picking up a pencil to draw something made me feel like I was moving in on their territory.  But that changed with the first drawing.  It exceeded my wildest dreams.  I mean, for someone who had never thought of herself as creative, the resulting image made me feel good.  And I think it was less about the product and more about discovering that I could express myself and find meaning in my expression.  After that first one I was hooked.

That first drawing was a mandala.  Mandalas mean different things to different people.  For some, they are something pretty to look at that happens to be in the shape of a circle.  For some, the mandala can be an opportunity to peer inward at some part of the self.  For others, self expression is less important than meditation.

After creating that first mandala in college, I became curious about the circular artform and began studying them.  This led me on a journey of self-exploration which has developed into a personal practice and spilled over into leading of workshops and meditative classes.

I decided that I wanted to set aside space here at The Art of Collecting Yourself to pay homage to the product and process which first brought me to the visual arts.  I hope you enjoy my mandalas.  They have been an important tool for my own personal healing.

 

My first mandala included a series of rings which each had deep meaning for me as I began a journey of healing which has now spanned decades. Looking back at the nested circles, much of the details escape me, but the general intention comes through the years to speak loudly to me. The eye in the center is especially haunting. It seems to be that me of the past looking into the future for hope. As I sit in the seat of that future, I can look at the young woman who desired change and know that she/I will be triumphant.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Expressive Art, Mandalas and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

