Life Songs: Finding my Soundtrack for Living

image

image

My Aunt Blanche shared an idea with me many years ago.  She told me that the songs she heard during the day often synchonized with what was going on in her life.  I loved the idea of having a soundtrack for living. What a creative way to place meaning in life!

Recently, I realized that over the course of the last couple of years, I have lost track with music.  Part of this is probably my own doing.  I enjoy the sound of silence and often indulge in my own thoughts at the expense of keeping up with the latest Top 40 charts.  But some of it is a lack of music listening options.  No CD, cassette, or MP3 player (although I sometimes listen to Pandora).

And yet another slice of the pie comes from a core belief that I don’t deserve music.  I don’t know how to explain this.  Some people are CRAZY about music.  They have to have it to survive.  Somehow as I became a young woman, I cut that out of my life believing it to be an indulgence I should live without, feeling others more worthy of music than myself.

But as I said, I have realized that I miss music.  So this year, I am allowing it to flow into my life again.  And one way I am doing that is to borrow Aunt Blanche’s soundtrack for living.  This year, I am going to claim songs which have a message that I want playing behind the story of my life.  The music that I want to triumph me on.  Music to love by and be loved by.  Music to dance to and music to get still in.

My first song comes to me as the New Year raps at my door.  I chose it because it is both a proclamation of how I feel and a reminder of how to keep this feeling alive.

I AM feeling good!  I love the words and energy of this song.  It reminds me to be present and mindful.  And to experience the goodness of life with all my senses. This is going to be one of the songs to lead me into and through the New Year to come! I hope you enjoy it!

(NOTE: I wrote this last night with the intention of buying an MP3 player in a few days. We lost both of ours about a year ago. But guess what popped up in our electronics drawer this morning! Both MP3’s!!! Guess music wants to be in my life as much as I want it in mine.)

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life Songs: Finding my Soundtrack for Living

  1. Yes, while I am never far from radio, Pandora, iPod or other music playing device, I have craved the music as well. My husband bought me a nice guitar 28 years ago before I was pregnant with my son. Shortly after getting the guitar, I found out I was pregnant and put the guitar down. Since then I have loaned it to numerous people but it always made it’s way back. Well, my niece brought back my guitar and I am now taking lessons with Mr. McCoy! I spent about an hour yesterday pickin’ and a grinnin’…music makes me happy…and I am going to play the guitar for me…if someone else wants to listen in they may but the music is for me. YAY, for music!!! Keep sharin’ Rachel! HUGS! and Happy New Year!

    • Rae says:

      Vicki, well, you are in good hands with Mr. McCoy. If I had the inkling to learn guitar, he would be my first stop. I would love to hear you play when you are ready for an audience! Thanks again for stopping by and for posting. Love you!

  2. Yay! Now you can hear my other boyfriend sing you “The Sound of Sunshine”. He always gets me in a high vibration mood. This song’s for you. Thanks for the great blog. Love you. Happy New Year. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KqgHosrqJ8o

    • Rae says:

      Irene, what a gift! Me and Michael got acquainted on our trip to Seattle. Milena brought him with us on a road trip. His music is beautiful….and so is HE! Love you! Can’t wait to hear about your travels face-to-face.

Leave a Reply

