I say Good-bye…I say Hello

Yesterday morning, I woke up with a slight feeling of sadness.  I couldn’t place at first where my melancholy mood came from, but within seconds, I realized I was grieving over saying goodbye to 2010.  This year resonated with meaning for me.

Here is an inventory of my 2010:

  • The year started with a new job in a profession I had dreamed of working in since I was 16….counseling.
  • The people I work with are a great match for me and they make my job enjoyable.
  • This year I graduated with my counseling degree and was honored for the work I have done with incorporating creativity in counseling.
  • My husband and I took a trip to Oregon and Seattle….a trip which changed our lives for the better and will continue to shape how we live.
  • This was the last year I spent with my dear friend Dennis.  And although losing Dennis was very difficult, the impact he made in my life is far grater than the loss.  I will be forever grateful for the hand of Fate which brought him close to us.
  • This year I officiated at my first memorial service (for Dennis). This was a monumental honor.
  • This year I also had the honor of marrying a beautiful young couple.  Weddings are one of my favorite forms of collaborative creativity.
  • This year I found a new understanding with food and body.  I am eating better, moving better, and  feeling better.
  • This year I felt the darkness over losing my mother in my early 20’s lift.  I used to feel like I knew death intimately because it came into my life so young.  Today my focus has moved away from death and is on getting to know LIFE!
  • This year we invited a close friend and her son to move in with us.  We are cultivating our little commune together.  I am loving it.
  • This year, I was published, another life long dream.

So ya see….2010 rocked.  And because I am a sentimental kinda soul, my heart will always hold this year close.  But not so close that I will let it stand in my way of making 2011 something special.

So I say Good-bye to the Old Year and Hello to the New!

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

