Creativity as Social Change: Kindermusik Good Beginnings Grant

Advocating for social change can be a powerful form of creativity.

Here at The Art of Collecting Yourself, I am all about Creative Living.  One important part of living creatively in my opinion is social justice.  Sure, it is easy for me to make change in my life, craft it to my pleasing, but there are areas of our society which require the voices of many to help make social change.  I find it exciting and worthwhile to advocate for others. I can put my talents to good use. This is one reason I have answered the call to work in the arena of domestic violence and sexual assault.  I can advocate for those who have not yet found their voice.  As a counselor, I have the honor of walking with my clients into the dark places they must face in order to come out victorious on the other side.

One of the ways I work with my clients is through Play Therapy.  This dynamic mode of counseling understands that play is the language of children and that toys are their words.

Recently, the agency I work with, The Women’s Shelter of South Texas, had the opportunity to apply for an exciting grant funded by Kindermusik.  The funds from the grant will help us get closer to completing our room.  We are especially excited about being able to feature multicultural toys and toys which speak to the diversity of the families we serve. We are beginning the voting process to help us qualify for the grant.

If you would like to help shake things up, assist a child victim of domestic violence in expressing what needs to be heard, consider visiting Kindermusik to vote for The Women’s Shelter of South Texas ( this is the link to the Shelter’s FaceBook).

Once you get to the page, you can easily find the shelter entry by searching for PLAY THERAPY. You will note a green VOTE button to the right of each entry.  Push that button and you will find a prompt pop-up verifying that you meant to vote for the entry you pushed. Then a window will open saying, THANKS FOR VOTING.  Click that and then go back and vote the green button up to 10 times. It takes about a minute, and you can vote every 24 hours.

Vote Here

The video below is part of our application.  That’s me on the puppets.

Too much fun!

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living, Social Justice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creativity as Social Change: Kindermusik Good Beginnings Grant

  1. This is an awesome post. I think we have a lot in common.

  2. Rae says:

    Thanks, Lynna. I think we do. I am glad we have found each other. Perhaps we can get to know one another better in the coming year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

