~The Sartorialist

As a young woman trying to find herself, I had a strategy I often used for trying to manifest changes I wanted to see in myself.  When I wasn’t sure how to be what I desired, I would study others to see how they managed to pull it off.  I remember actually sitting and watching an artist friend from afar.  He nibbled on his food when his imagination came up for air during drawing sessions at lunch.  I was amazed at his dedication and drive.  I wanted to have something pull me in that far.  So I learned, little by little to give into the creative impulse.

And even today, as I choose to stretch in life, I rely on this to help guide my success.  Sitting and watching.  Observing and then, practicing.  Eventually even becoming.  This video points to living a creative life.  It illustrates how to take that creative action that inspires and use it in an instinctual way.

Scott Schuman is The Sartorialist, a photographer/blogger who has taken the fashion world to a new place.  His blog rethinks fashion and how we understand it.  He gives it a postmodern spin so that it is less about what the Fashion World deems as fashionable and more about what the World sees as Fashion.  It wipes away the hierarchy of style and points at what is interesting, whether it is the street worker in his duct taped boots or the fashionista straight off the run-way.  The people decide in a moment to moment discourse about what works and what doesn’t.

But my blog isn’t about fashion.  What I love about this video is that it teaches us that blogs can be tools for creativity and collaboration.  And it moves what I discovered long ago about people-watching away from just face-to-face exploration and puts it on a global perspective….shifts it, as Schuman calls the internet, to the park bench of the world.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creativity Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~The Sartorialist

  1. ldsrr91 says:

    This is my first visit to your blog, it is laid out nice, and it reads well. You are doing a great job.

    DS

Leave a Reply

