I had a Worry Sandwich for Lunch at the ArtCafe

A few days ago, I started having ART for lunch.

Just a few pieces of paper, a bit of oil paint, and my hands.

I sit down with my Imagination and marvel at the visual conversation that follows.

Today’s special: A Worry Sandwich.

After eating every last bite, I feel better.

Art really does heal!

The technique I used on this piece is called Touch Drawing.  It was one of my goals this year to try my hand at this (literally).  Touch drawing, a technique created by Deborah Koff-Chapin, uses the hands as the implement for creating art, rather than a brush.

Having a background as a massage therapist, I often have a sense that I take in the world through my finger tips, palms, fist, and wrists.  Using this part of my body to communicate feelings and inner messages turns that sensory center into an express-ory center.  The art feels intimate and immediate.  It is very satisfying.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Art Cafe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I had a Worry Sandwich for Lunch at the ArtCafe

  1. E says:

    You have actually created an image of me. I have been on the road to self healing for a while. But this paints a photo of my feelings at lines. You are also gifted with the art of healing though your work. Thanks to a wonderful massage therapist and chiropractor. I can walk. And my pain has dissolved it took years. But I would have never made it with out the gift you have. Thank you for posting the sandwich too. The joy I received is priceless.
    Namaste

    • Rae says:

      Wow, E! I am so thrilled to hear about the rehab you got and that it worked for you. I fell in love with massage years ago and used it for a long time as my career. These days I still keep my table around for friends and family, but use a different form of the healing arts…relationships. I am a counselor in a domestic violence shelter. Talk about a meaningful job. I am blessed everyday by the folks I get to witness on their healing path. I am glad my piece resonated with you. It was a good one for me too. Good to see you around. Have an awesome day!

  2. E says:

    Hi Rae, My youngest daughter is one of the people you try to help. We have her living with us now. And her hubby is finally in jail. He will have a jury trial at the end of this month. I am very thankful for what I hope is the end. She is one who kept going back for more. I myself could never understand why. Has has taken away her life as she knew it. And we may loose her too. Thanks to her choice in returning.

  3. THIS EXPRESSIVE ARTS TECHNIQUE ALLOWS THE RELEASE OF DEEP SEATED FEELINGS .

Leave a Reply

