Wishcasting Wednesday: What burden do you wish to put down?

Winter Wishcast

Winter Wishcast by Rashamaria on Polyvore.com

With the Winter’s most powerful storm knocking at our back door, there is a thrill that joins the growing chill in the air.  Living in the American South, I have rarely seen snowfall.  Twice in my life.  So with the forecast hinting at the possibility of snow, my family is making provisions.  A book to cozy up with, showers early before the slate floors turn fridged, and of course, stock up on the necessities….like the three boxes of hot chocolate mix and mini marshmallows someone brought home from the store.

It is all a bit funny, my perspective on this storm. Part of me knows I should be worried about pipes busting and plants dying.  In fact, sitting in the hair salon today I overheard a few transplanted Northerners talk about how those who grew up in the South panic when it gets too cold.  They talked about how we won’t drive when it’s icy and how we cancel anything outside the home.

But recently, I have been toying with the idea of my relationship with responsibility.  Somehow I woke up with a label on my head that says I can get things done.  But today, I decided that the ladies in the salon had it all wrong.  Staying at home isn’t about staying off the streets so we won’t crash or freaking out because there is a little ice.  When it gets cold, I just wanna play SNOW DAY….whether it is snowing or not!  I wanna indulge in the huddling up that Winter is supposed to be about.  Because any other day in a South Texas Winter just means wearing pants instead of shorts.  I want the biggest sweater I can find piled on top of as many layers as I can manage to stuff under it.  I want to feel the slight burn that comes with a chilly nose.  And I want to cuddle in with the big blankie for a day of movies about Everest.  I mean, really, how often does a girl get a chance to enjoy a day that actually FEELS like Winter?  Not many this close to the equator.  So when they come, I will fuss about them and go over board with my imagination because playing is fun…and healthy.

So here is to putting down the big burden that I often carry around with me… the burden of thinking I have to always be responsible.  I wanna have fun.  I wish to turn things around when there is a hint that I am slipping into the quick sand of seriousness and to indulge in more play and more light heartedness in work, at home, and in love.

And this week’s cold spell will cast the perfect opportunity to do just that!

The wonderful world of wish making flings opens its doors and beckons you to whisper or wail what waits to come forth!  To read the wishes of other wishcaster or to join in the wishmaking fun, whip on over to Jamie Ridler Studios.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Wishcasting Wednesday: What burden do you wish to put down?

  1. Gina says:

    I totally agree that we all need to put down all the responsibilities and have more fun!
    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also.

  2. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also …

    I come from a cold winterey part of Canada, and now that I live on the temperate west coast, I can honestly say that I don’t miss the cold, and the snow.

    Have fun, tho’ …

  3. E says:

    I love the flow you have in your words. I really never thought of how some one else would want to experience cold weather. I have only been south 2 time. It was wonderful to be in Huston in March and have shorts on. The 2nd time was Corsican Texas. This was when too much snow came with me. LOL
    I too am learning to have fun with cold weather. Your words helped me to see your joy in it.
    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also.

  4. What a lovely, fun, self- nurturing this to do!!

    As you wish for yourself, Rae, so do I wish for you as well.

  5. Yvonne says:

    That’s a good wish. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well!

  6. GlendaM says:

    Fun! As Rae wishes for herself, so do I wish for her as well.

  7. Lucy says:

    Play snow day – it is a snow day here. As Rae wishes for herself so I wish for her also.

  8. Maria Norcia says:

    Snow days … As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also …

  9. Ginny says:

    I live in the south as well. And there is nothing more exciting than a snow day. As I read your post, I thought why do I wait for snow days to just curl up with a book and a blanket and enjoy the cold? I can create the same sense of enjoyment without the snow. I just have to do it. I too want to have fun. Thank you for a wonderful post. As Rae wishes for herself, I wish for her as well.

  10. mujerzen says:

    I love coming to visit you. As you wish for yourself, I lovingly wish for your also.

  11. Pam says:

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well…

    Being from the absolutely frozen part of Canada, the idea of closing down when it snows is just foreign (we don’t have snow days or cold days here at all, so the idea of “snow day” is just an American idea that we don’t understand) — when winter is 6-8 months of the year there is no concept of being able to stay home or slow down or just close up shop when the snow comes… I WISH sometimes that we could, though… oh how nice it would be NOT to have to go out when its -35C!!

    • Rae says:

      Pam, I find it so interesting that we all come together thru the internet where the reality of weather is non-existent. I try to stay aware that there is such distance between us and sometimes vast differences in culture and language. That is the beauty of the net. I get to step out of my world and create another with someone else. Stay warm, friend.

  12. Ceanne says:

    I am also from the frigid north – Winnipeg, Canada – and, unfortunately we’ve had much too much snow this year and when it isn’t snowing, it’s cccccccccooooooollllllddd (teeth chattering). I completely understand the need to pile on the warm clothes and cuddle up–I do that most evenings in the winter here. I can’t really imagine living anywhere else though as I’ve lived here most of my life and my family is close, but dreams of warm white beaches help to keep me warm.

    Every so often we get a Snow Day and it’s incredibly nice to not have to go anywhere — not that we could ;o) And enjoy the guiltless pleasure of a day off with no responsibility.

    Thanks Rae!!! As Rae wishes for herself, I truly wish for her.

  13. Molly says:

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I happily wish also! I’m on a snow day today! Woo hoo!!

    Much Joy~*
    Molly

  14. keishua says:

    Oh, yes I get this. It is ringing in my ears. As the eldest child of four, I understand that burden. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you, too.

  15. Grace says:

    Being a responsible person is both a blessing and a curse, isn’t it? I’m the oldest child and an Adult Child…so being free from being overly responsible has been a healing path I’ve had to walk down myself.

    The fact is, the world will and does get along without me – us – the “responsible” ones, so why waste so much of our energy on that? Go out and make a snow angel! Stay in your jammies all day and drink hot chocolate! Have that play day regardless of the weather (I call them “Mental Health Days”! LOL) You totally deserve it!

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well!

  16. Sarah Lulu says:

    As playful Rae wishes for herself I so loving wish this for her also. xx

    We have been facing summer cyclones here in Australia and you are thinking about snow!

  17. Jodi says:

    ha! let loose! as you wish for yourself, i wish for you also ;0)

  18. Yvonne says:

    Thanks for your comment. I had to look where you’re from now.
    I’m sure you will have fun with the snow. It really is beautiful ❤
    And don't worry, we had a lot of snow which stayed this year, we aren't used to that, too. The weeks before Christmas the cities didn't have any salt anymore and the streets were very icy, but you just have to be more careful and then it's okay.
    Have fun 🙂

    • Rae says:

      I am from Texas, Yvonne. It hasn’t snow yet, but the weather guys are thinking it might. Either way, work was canceled for the day. So I am snuggled in with my cats between trips outside to see what the world is up to. 🙂

  19. Setting down responsibility for a day or two can be so refreshing! As Rae wishes for herself, so do I lovingly wish for her also!

  20. OOOH Fun! I love fun! Being childlike is so good for the soul!

    What you wish for you,
    I wish for too!

Leave a Reply

