Poet on the Loose!

Gathering up pages of my poetry

for a reading at the Coffee House sponsored by the  UU Church.

Here is a sneak peek.

Into my Power

Can’t move.

See where I want to go

Out of the corner of my eye,

Turn my head,

Shift my gaze,

And it’s gone!

Eyes are heavy.

Lids mask the clear unburdened path

That calls me outside.

And I’m stuck here inside,

Unable to coax that leg

Away from the ledge of the skyscraper

It’s awakened to find itself

Affixed to in fear.

Gripping with nails and teeth.

Feeling the grit of cement

Chip away at the smooth enamel

That slowly drags

Across the surface of the building

Slow and steady

Like a religion that

Grinds away at me

As I grip to it

In fear of letting go.

Knowing all along that it

Wears away,

Tears away.

I should fall away.

Open my heavy lids.

Open my moist red palms feel the rush of wind

Across my back

Race up to meet my body

As I plow down one floor at a time.

Open my mouth to let out a scream

Only to have the air

Force my voice back up inside

Swallow my words

Like a thousand times before.

Until I’m invisible, until I’m ignored.

Spit them up, spit them out,

And yet I can’t!

Can’t even move.

Can’t even move one inch.

Can’t even breathe.

Except in short staccato pulses,

Like an animal,

Claws out stretched,

Clinging to myself.

Feel the tearing of my flesh

As I attempt to pull my animal-self way.

Low threats of the siren’s call

Escape with a cat-fight growl and a hiss.

Yelling at myself, begging myself.

Don’t you make me move from this spot!

Don’t you make me move from this spot!

Clinging to myself.

Please, make it stop.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poet on the Loose!

  1. Grammy E says:

    Your words are so powerful. I clung onto each one. I would have to say this is the most amazing thing I have read in a long time. Thank you for sharing.
    Also please know. I am also E at forever changing. This is my old blog I am writing from.
    Best wishes E

    • Rae says:

      Thanks for the heads up about your identity. It helps to keep up with everyone. And goodness! Thank you for your kind words. The poem came at a time in my life when I was discovering how powerful I could be. It was the last great fight for mediocrity. Luckily, authenticity won!

  2. Mariah says:

    Very cool! I like it! When’s the reading?

    I also write poetry – my biggest writing accomplishment lately was getting nominated for a Pushcart Prize this year. Really gave me a boost!

    • Rae says:

      Mariah…sorry I missed the message. The reading was at 7:30 this evening. I would love to hear about your award and share poetry sometime.

Leave a Reply

