Adornment as Adoration

The Universe ate my blog last night.  So I practiced a bit of self-care and got some well needed sleep before trying my hand at it again.  It is exciting to see the Valentine’s slowly coming in.  (You can find them by clicking the Mr. Linky in my earlier post.) I know of a few more that will come in over the next couple of days and want to encourage those of you who wish to leave love notes at those links to support and encourage one another.

Now….my self-love Valentine.

Some years ago, I found my first calling to visual art through the crafting of jewelry.  My self-esteem was a bit low at the time, so creating something and then showing it to the world was a big mind trip.  Eventually though, that all shifted.  And somewhere along the way, I began using those things I adorned my body with as a way of honoring myself.

When I first came up with the title Adornment as Adoration, I assumed that the two words had the same origin.  But further research showed that adornment comes from the Latin word ordo which is to order, which basically means to fashion or make.  Adoration has its roots in the Latin orare which is to speak formally or pray.  And so, these two words describe the essense of most of my personal art, and my self-love Valentine is no exception.

When I had the idea for the self-love Valentine, I knew for myself that I wanted it to be something that could go with me for the course of the Celebration of Wellness as a reminder that loving myself is the foundation of taking action towards wellness. So making an ornament of sorts seemed to be the answer.  And certainly, this won’t be something I wear ALL the time, but I will be able to pull it out on days when I need an extra reminder.

So I have created a cuff. It is inspired by a few things.  First, I decided on a cuff because I have had a number of dreams in which my wrists and hands were areas of both power and vulnerability.  That is where the pulse lives and therefore, is a pathway to the heart.  Secondly, I chose the material, a red leather, from a jacket which I wore during a time of supreme wellness in my life and a time when I felt empowered.  Lastly, the design was inspired by a costume piece I recently created with my friend Irene Jaan for her tour with the Ren Faire throughout this upcoming year.

Here’s the process:

I gathered the items I thought I might use, powered up my sewing machine, and kicked my imagination into high gear.

After snipping a sleeve off my old jacket, I wrapped the leather around my wrist, sculpting it bit by bit with my scissors. The red marker helped me create almost invisible guide marks.

Tiny pockets hold vials. One with a picture of myself which I adore, and the other with my favorite essential oil blend.

The cuff is still in process and probably will take shape over the next several months as I come to understand what it means to me.  I will most likely add beads and bits to it.  It currently just has a button for it’s closure and a tiny charm that reads Follow Your Heart.  And that is what I plan to do.

I want to wish you all a beautiful Valentine’s Day.

Thank you for spending a part of it with me.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Celebration of Wellness Blog Party, Creative Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Adornment as Adoration

  1. soultreasure says:

    Hi Rae! Love the cuff that you are working on (and I get to see it in progress…tee, hee) I love what your Self Love Valentine means to you…..I can’t wait to see the end results as you complete your project as it grows with you and has your love put into it.

  2. rosemary says:

    ahh our journey is taking us down a new road, I so look forward to all that we learn about ourselves and the nurturing that will sure to take place. beautiful cuff.

  3. Tracey says:

    Rae, that is great! I love it.

  4. maggie J says:

    Adornment is so much fun….your cuff is beautiful and full of meaning.
    Now I wish I never got rid of my sewing machine!!!!

  5. Pingback: Show and Tell: Weekly Wellness Practice | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  6. Pingback: Circle Time | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

