Stepping onto the Wellness Wheel

Tentatively she stands on the edge of a giant wheel just at the edge of time, in a region of possibly that only she knows exists.  Around the wheel stand others like her, like guardian witnesses to the act of rigorous self-love she is about to take.  A step.  Perhaps seen as cautious, but this is a step she has intended for sometime.  One, she knows she will not regret.

I don’t know how you are feeling about exploring the Wheel of Wellness, but I am excited to be HERE.  And more than me be excited to be here, I am grateful to know that others have come to the wheel with me, either in action or in quiet support.

Let’s start by talking about the Wheel of Wellness.  This wheel is a model of wellness that takes into consideration the various aspects of a person’s life, so that when we talk about wellness, we are not stuck in one area (physical probably being the most popular way to frame or think about our wellness). Instead, we are considering all of ourselves.  You might even imagine that the center of the wheel, where it is pink and black, is a representation of you as a whole.

This holistic approach makes creating change more likely.  If I know I want to shift my level of wellness as it applies to my body, addressing my thoughts and feelings can make a big impact.  And so, for the next seven months, we will dance around this wheel exploring one wellness zone at a time, resting the last week of the month to reflect on how paying attention to that zone might have caused change in the others.  After we have traveled to each area, we will spend some time in the center, and finally look back at our journey to see where we ended up.

The journey will be similar to the last couple of weeks.  I will give you a Wellness Art-ivity on Monday and ask you to post a link to a blog about it in the comments on Friday.  This is a rhythm that I myself am getting used to, so stay close if you will as I grow to catch up with my dream.  As we are getting the momentum going, I am considering posting the links on my facebook page so that those that follow me will know if late comers post a link. Let me know what you think about that.  Feedback is always welcomed.

And now for the first zone….Spiritual

When looking at the wheel, my first thought was that I might be expected to go for the gold…. to jump into the place where I am assuming most of us want to see change, physical.  My years as a massage therapist have thought me that it is usually better to work around the inflamed area before going in to work out a kink, so I went with my intuition and have decided to start in the spiritual zone.

When I consider talking to you about spiritual wellness, I think it is important for me to make it clear that I highly value diversity.  And so, in this way, I hope this space where we all come together can be a place to celebrate the various ways we might experience spirituality.  I know for some, that will be in accordance to their very precious religious beliefs; for others, spirituality might be perfectly expressed in the absence of religion, and yet for others, they may have little connection to the concept of spirituality.  No matter where you are on your path and no matter how different it is from mine, I value it as I value you.

Wellness Art-ivity: A Daily Practice

One of the things that makes the Celebration of Wellness unique is that we are engaging wellness thru the use of the Arts.  One form of expressive art is ritual.  We engage in rituals all the time.  The ritual cup of morning coffee, the lighting of candles on the birthday cake, or fortune cookie you have had taped to your computer monitor to remind you that success is imminent.  Most of these things are ways of bringing meaning or value to your life.  For this week’s art-ivity, I am inviting you to create a daily practice which reminds you of the wellness journey you are on.  Make it as simple or complex as you like.  There is no wrong or right way to do it.  Let your blog somehow document your practice…tell us about it, show it to us, or explain how it has effected you.  Then return here on Friday to post your link and gander a peek at how others are connecting to and strengthening their inner desire to improve their level of wellness.  I will be showing you my practice at that time as well.

 

 

 

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Celebration of Wellness Blog Party, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stepping onto the Wellness Wheel

  1. maggie J says:

    Oh interesting a riual…there are many that I would like to have but, as you say, simple is best….I will float forward and see where my ritual(s) rest awaiting the discovery of self. Thanks Rae…this sounds like fun!

  2. It’s always a treat to visit you! Something interesting every time. I love your wheel of wellness … a great visual for those of us who struggle to balance the many things we need to do for self care. Take good care, dear Rae … and may all of your wishes come true!

  3. Powerful images, both in words and illustrations.

  4. Pingback: Spring Dreams | 52 Squires in a Year

  5. Pingback: The Spirituality of Play | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  6. Pingback: Balancing the Wheel of Wellness | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

