You Say Toe-May-Toe, I Say Toe-Ma-Toe

I live in a little cottage home with my husband and another family made up of a mother and her grown son.  We are a happy, the four of us.  We share nearly everything, food, household goods and chores, a love of art, and good times over coffee at the bookstore on Friday and Saturday nights.

Living communally has been a lesson in opening my heart. And yet, I have come to a point in this journey where the pendulum has swung in the opposite direction, and I am now needing to learn to thrive as an individual in community.  This lesson learned in the safety of my own home might as well have been learned where ever I would have found myself when it came up for me.  This is not simply about my living situation; living communally just gives me the perfect environment for learning.

With the backdrop painted, let me more specifically paint the details of what limits I wish to set in my life.  The first limit has to be one I set with myself, a limit of demanding that I value myself as an individual, that I dare to share this love of myself with those around me. It is one thing for me to say inside that I love myself but then not to share what my individual needs are with those around me keeps me from fully being able to manifest that love.  The second limit is for me to try to be discerning when I begin to feel selfish.  This is the perfect time for me to try to understand where the selfishness comes from.  Is it because I am afraid to say what I need or that I will be judged if I do?  Or is it because I am coming from a mindset of lack?  I think that selfish feeling could be a great teacher for me as I explore living in community with others.

If you are interested in reading more Wishcastings, jump on over to Jamie Ridler Studios, you might even decide to make a wish of your own

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You Say Toe-May-Toe, I Say Toe-Ma-Toe

  1. Jacs says:

    As you wish this for yourself, I wish it for you too. Beautiful images. Jacs x

  2. Sara Rae says:

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also.

  3. Kim says:

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you as well.

  4. Mare says:

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also!

  5. Ginny says:

    I love what you say about daring to share your love of self with others. That is something that I will have to think deeply about. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.

Leave a Reply

