The Spirituality of Play

My day started with the residue of a disturbing dream still fresh on my mind. Eyes cracked open, I began to wonder…Does this mean my whole day is going to be bad? The Universe answered with an opportunity. Bounding up the stairs like a tiny ball of thunder, my cat, Gypsy, entered the room, jumped onto the bed and ran up my body. And suddenly, I was pulled into a good morning play session which lifted my spirit and reset my mood.

As I contemplated what I might make the focus of this week’s spiritual wellness prompt, I realized I spent the day on a guided treasure hunt. A series of events took me along a path which invited me to explore such topics as spirituality, relationships with others, the power of manifestation, play and joy. When I looked at the events, I realized it was a dynamic called synchronicity which created the connection between these otherwise unrelated happenings. I thought perhaps I could write about how synchronicity is a component of spirituality. But when I checked in with my gut, my intuition made me strongly feel like I was supposed to talk more about play. Then I realized there is a link between the two.

Our focus this week is going to be the Spirituality of Play. Play is a means of upping the level of joy in our lives. It relieves stress and boosts our moods. It improves our spirits. On that alone, it might qualify to be the focus for the week, but what makes play jump firmly into the realm of spirituality just might be the concept of synchronicity. Synchronicity is a term coined by Carl Jung which is about the relation of seemingly unrelated events which somehow share a common meaning for the ones experiencing them. Today, as I thought about the meaningful events that came my way, I realized that synchronicity was the Universe’s (my psyche’s or Spirit’s…you choose the word that works for you) way of playing with me. So, this week, we are going to play with the Universe and invite it to teach us about play as we do.  We will do this using the tool of synchronicity.  We are working on TWO levels…we are creating an art project, but we are also creating our lives.

Wellness Art-ivity: An Experiment in Manifesting Play

Choosing from one of the forms of self-expression offered on the Creativity Mandala to the left, create an art project  that is created in a playful way.You can make the subject of the project anything you wish.  The point is to create in a playful way.  THEN, invite the Universe to bring you invitations to play or teach you about being playful.  You might even keep a list of ways this manifests. Return on Friday to post a link to your blog which shares your art project and some of the ways play was synchronistically brought into your life.

 

This week’s Wellness Art-ivity was inspired by a show I saw on tv.com called

Art in the 21st Century: Play.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Celebration of Wellness Blog Party and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Spirituality of Play

  1. Pingback: Show and Tell: Spirituality of Play | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  2. Pingback: The Blanket Fort Project | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

