The Blanket Fort Project

This project was inspired by Andrea at ABCcreativty.  In early February, as the Arctic Blast was barreling through our mild-Wintered, Southern American town, I discovered a juicy bit of creative play on Andrea’s site….she had made a blanket fort.

My inner child went WILD.  I wanna….I wanna…I wanna, I heard chanted from within.  And so, in contemplating the Wellness Art-ivity to Manifest Play,  I have given into the call of that little sprite which resides inside and constructed my first ever…adult-made….blanket fort!

The Blanket Fort Project

For me, making a blanket fort isn’t all about the fort, it is about the MAKING. Into the linen closet I sneaked, eyes searching for the perfect materials.  They should be functional and yet, still be aesthetically pleasing.  Then down the stairs to the solarium (our fancy-scmancy name for the sunroom).  A few old suitcases added for some height, a few chairs for breadth, and I was in business…. well, almost.  There was the matter of some saggy places, which a pvc pipe from the garage helped.  Suddenly I had a gypsy-style tent sanctuary. I grabbed a few art supplies, my favorite leopard skin throw pillow, and I was in business.

By the time I sat down, I was exhilarated.  I couldn’t decide what to do first.  So, I did nothing.  I sat, eyes taking in the wonder of the cave-like structure.  Body taking in the sensation of seclusion.  I breathed…exhaled.  And felt the stress of life pull gently away.

 

Then my hands began to dance over the supplies.  I indulged in a series of touch drawings. Images of woman-wisdom emerged…of ideas nesting in my hair…of playfulness…and spirit.

Having made a blanket for, I realized that it was a form of creativity that I often explore in my mind but seldom bring into actuality.  It doesn’t show up in on my creativity mandala.  But I think I might add it sometime…that medium is installation.  My imagination is now crazy with ideas for these cushy sanctuaries.  They are relaxing and exhilarating all at the same time….and besides that, they are FUN!

For other projects from the Celebration of Wellness, check in with this week’s Show and Tell.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Celebration of Wellness Blog Party, Creative Living, Touch Drawing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Blanket Fort Project

  1. andrea says:

    Yay! This is awesome.

  2. Rae says:

    Thanks, Andrea! Glad you stopped by. Our blogs are great big Blanket Forts full of cozy creativity!

Leave a Reply

