My Wish for the World

With the world’s attention rightfully focused on the disaster in Japan, I am not surprised by Jamie Ridler’s Wishcasting Wednesday prompt.  I am, in fact, grateful for it.  Wishcasting has been my weekly practice for nine months or so.  In the course of that time, I have found that it has had a profound effect on my life.  Is it magic?  Is it prayer?  Or is it just focus?  I don’t know what it is, but it gives me a sense of a power greater than myself.  It has also opened me to relationships with women around the world.  (I way women because for the most part the wishcasters thusfar have been women.)

But the internet can do that, can’t it.  It can make the other side of the world show up in your own living room…in your lap…in your face.  And this week as we have had the devastation of the natural disasters show up in our faces, I have found myself recoiling from the pleasures and joviality of my everyday life.  My body started hurting…I felt ill.

I must confess that my knee jerk reaction was to pull away and try not to think about it…to disconnect.  Was it self-preservation?  Was it denial?  I don’t know.  I feel helpless.  That is the honest truth.

As a counselor, I sit with individuals everyday who are at the edge of life and death.  I witness their struggle to come out on top.  And for some, they won’t.  They can’t.  Not the way we might think they can….or even HOPE they can.   There are things, powers, systems that sometimes put our lives just out of our own reach.  And we sit with the pieces and wonder, what happened!?  And those around us want to make it all better.

I can’t make what happened in Japan better.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t have HOPE.  And it doesn’t mean that I won’t lend a hand, invest in their reconstruction, or offer a prayer….many prayers.  It means that I have to sit witness to what the people in Japan do to create meaning out of this.  And then that I must celebrate their creation.  Human beings are AMAZINGLY RESILIENT!  And it is my wish that the world will hold onto that hope during this crisis….that the world will hold out a helping hand…that we will await the beauty that will arise from the chaos….and to resist the temptation to turn away from what is difficult.  Let us be witness to their struggle, so that when it is all said and done, they will know they were not alone.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to My Wish for the World

  1. One of the most thoughtful, articulated and honest blog posts I´ve read about the event. Beautiful image to illustrate.

  2. LaWendula says:

    As Rae wishes for the world, so I wish for the world also.

    I really like what you write here, so true!

  3. Ginny says:

    As Rae wishes for the world, I wish for it as well. Beautiful post.

  4. As you wish for yourself, I too wish this for you.

  5. Yes Rae. As you wish for the world so I wish for you as well!

  6. I think that’s a great wish. As you wish for yourself Rae, so do I wish for you as well.

  7. Grace says:

    I was reminded of that old story, about the little boy walking down the beach littered with starfish. He was throwing them back in the water, one by one. Someone said to him, “There are too many starfish! You won’t make a difference.” The boy bent down, picked up yet another starfish, and threw it into the ocean. As it landed in the water, he said, “It made a difference for that one.”

    As you wish for the world, I wish for the world as well.

  8. Tee says:

    As you wish for the world, I wish also! ♥

  9. Dyane says:

    As you wish for the world & yourself, I wish for you also!

  10. Joy says:

    Rae,
    I love your wish..and yes, it is power, magic, and focus:) As you wish for yourself and the world so I too wish as well:)

  11. Sara says:

    All is lost without hope. What a beautiful wish. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also. Thank you for sharing.

  12. What a beautiful reflection and powerful wish. As Rae wishes for the world, so I wish as well.

  13. April Cole says:

    Beautifully written… as you wish for the world and yourself, I wish this for you as well.

  14. Mare says:

    Beautiful. As you wish for yourself (and the world), so I truly wish for you also.

  15. Amy Lee says:

    Very well said!

    As Rae wishes for the world, so I wish for the world also.

  16. Well said! As Rae wishes for the world, so I wish for the world also.

  17. Maryannk says:

    As Rae wishes for the world , I wish with her also! : ) Hope is all we got , lets hold on to it right : )

  18. It is hard to watch others struggle knowing they must find their own way! As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you!

  19. Your words are wise and powerful.

    I was prompted to do some non-dominant-hand journaling today in response to the question: What am I to learn from this tragedy in Japan? (Definitely a self-centric question not meant to make light of the pain being felt by those directly impacted by this catastrophe – just a way to make personal meaning of a global event) What came through was this:

    “Dear One, You are learning to be at peace with becoming. It is why you are here. To learn and to teach that the falling apart is the falling together.”

    Along with you, I “await the beauty that will arise from the chaos”- and I trust and know that it will.

    What I wish for Japan and for the world is healing at every level. Here is a piece of art I created today to express that wish:
    http://www.polyvore.com/healing_for_japan/set?id=29408025

    Thanks for your thoughtful post.

Leave a Reply

