Contemplative Art

This week’s Celebration of Wellness Blog Party focused on cultivating stillness.  I was amazed at the lessons once learned in other situations that came to the foreground this week.  This week reminded me that I have a lot of wisdom tucked away in the corners of my being that I forget to pull out and dust off.

Some of the Wisdom I Remembered

I remembered that while studying theatre in college that my director would encourage us to begin our performances from a place of peace and relaxation.  This was the first place I studied stillness, the first place where I discovered intentional breathing.  We learned to explore our bodies for places of stress and to invite our breath to loosen up what was bound up.  And when we were good and chilled out, we performed.  Now this was completely opposite of the place I thought good performance might come from.  I figured you get HYPED and JAZZED…and then socked it to ’em! But I will be ever grateful for my director for re-directing my thinking.  This lesson has been one of the most powerful realizations of my life.

This week I also studied about the history and culture of tea.  Several years ago I found a tattered book about the religion of tea.  I go to the book periodically because it reminds me that sanctuary can be found in something as simple as a cup filled with a few leaves and buds soaked in water.  The videos I watched have inspired me to aspire to become a tea connoisseur.  It touches on so many of the areas of the Wheel of Wellness that I imagine it has to be pretty good for me.  It is also a perfect pairing to my occasional interest in botanicals.

Lastly, my cultivation of stillness brought me to contemplate the ultimate stillness, death.  This last week, although it took me nearly another week to realize it, was filled with association with loss and grief.  The birthday of one beloved uncle who passed away several years ago, layered with the death anniversary of another dear uncle, the birthday of great friend lost this past summer, and time with a cousin whose husband is gravely ill.  No matter how still I tried to become, I was acutely aware of that at the most minute level of my existence, I am not still…I am animated….and alive.  Stillness is an illusion.  But one I will continue to indulge.

My Wellness Art-ivity

For my wellness art-ivity,  I have turned to the contemplative art of touch drawing.  This is an activity that is somewhat new to me.  At the beginning of the year, I decided to make this my artform of focus for 2011.  I began by getting quiet.  And then inviting my hands to move across the page, exploring the images and feelings that wanted to come to the surface.  I will continue to work with what was created by adding prismacolor and layers of ink.

An Invitation

To end, I want to thank each of you for going on this journey with me.  I am so grateful for our growing community. For those of you who wish you could be doing what you are seeing from the Creatives who are participating in the Celebration of Wellness….come on in, the water is FINE!


About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Celebration of Wellness Blog Party, expressive arts, mandala, Spirituality, Touch Drawing, Verbena Botanicals, wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Contemplative Art

  1. Pingback: Super Sized Wy-MOON | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

