The Kind of Beauty that Sparkles

How do I wish to SPARKLE?

I have been thinking a lot about SPARKLING, about how I DO sparkle and how I WANT to sparkle.  As you may have seen in my last Full Moon Dream Board, I have big plans in store for my body… and my life.  I have begun looking into weight loss surgery.  In order to make that work for me, I will have to shift many of the ways that I currently live.  That shift does not come as an inconvenience; rather it is a challenge which I am craving.

This change is about SPARKLING.  It is about living to my absolute fullest potential.  And I have been trying to wrap my mind around what that means exactly.  Although some of this will not make sense until I am in the moment, I believe letting my imagination go to the future can help me prepare.  So I have been dreaming on what things will be like… dreaming on what frame I might be able to place around behavior and thinking that will accentuate my success.

How can I make this work without feeling like a victim to my new food necessities and my eating restrictions.  And one thing that has helped me is to consider CLEAN living.  In this way, I can delineate what benefits my body and benefits my psyche. Asking myself if a choice promotes clean living also moves me away from the judgement of good and bad.  But it might be fun to take that clean-living idea a step further and ask….will this ultimately help me to sparkle…to shine?

I want my life to SPARKLE.  I have decided that I want to approach the changes that I am creating as something holistic. I don’t just want to change the way I eat.  I am creating a lifestyle, a new way of being and a new way of thriving.  And HOW I am transitioning is being approached with the same creativity that I bring to my whole life.  I want to create a ceremony for the beginning of my new  life…this will be more than a physical journey, it is not so far from some of the journeys that a shaman or wise womyn might take.  I want that same depth of meaning.

Although I didn’t know this when I started the Celebration of Wellness Blog Party, but when I am done in 8 or so more months, I will have explored each area of my life and set myself up for optimum success for this new life.  This is so exciting to me.  It helps me believe even more in the possibility of my dream.  Not only am I WISHING, but I am putting action behind the vision.  I am dedicating nine months of my life to guaranteeing a more fulfilling life.

Thursday morning I will meet the doctor who may be doing my surgery.  I have a thousand questions and one big lump of hope in the center of my chest.  I feel like I am on the ride of my life.  From the moment I discovered that this path might be for me, I have felt like I was riding a giant SPARKLE wave to the place where Spirit is lovingly leading me. And that place is beautiful.  Not just the kind of beautiful you find on the cover of a magazine or whispered half-enviously when a looker walks by, but the kind of beauty that makes joy well up inside of those who witness it.  The kind of beauty that is contagious… that makes others want to reach for more in their own lives.  The kind of beauty that SPARKLES!

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Celebration of Wellness Blog Party and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Kind of Beauty that Sparkles

  1. Grammy E says:

    Sparkle on my friend. You have a wonderful attitude. And I am here for you.
    E

  2. I had surgery 5 years ago, to change my appearance & I don’t regret it for a minute. I had so many, many people tell me not to do it, but it’s my life, body, mind – NOT theirs! I support you 100% in this Rae, but you will need to change the way you eat, or exercise often. Any good surgeon will tell you that. I have a friend who had a tummy tuck at the same time as I had my breasts enlarged. She is now bigger than she was, because the weight is going on her back & bum. I’m not sure what surgery you are contemplating, but you will need to change something, somewhere, I am sorry to tell you.
    As Rae wishes to Sparkle, so do I wish for her as well.

  3. Yvonne says:

    Big Changes. Losing weight changes a lot, even how the people around you behave (positive AND negative, believe me). I think you’re thinking of it the right way when you want to change your eating habits. I love your definition of beauty.
    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also!

  4. Ginny says:

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well. I wish you much success and well wishes for the journey you are about to take.

  5. As you wish for yourself I also wish for you. I hope you continue to sparkle. Good luck with the surgery.

  6. maggie J says:

    Wow Rae! You are venturing into a brave new world. this adventure will take you down a path of self discovery that your body, mind and soul want to unite together.
    As you wish for yourself so too I wish for you. Big Hug.

  7. Lucy says:

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    Love the Polyvore images.

  8. What a beautiful, whole wish! I LOVE your online sparkle, and pray that you’ll feel whole and well with every fiber of your being! Sending love to you on your journey ~

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wholeheartedly wish for her also ~
    Love,
    Jane

  9. Ceanne says:

    Good luck Rae! I’m on my own weight loss journey. At this time it’s taking a different path, but I know too that change-is-a-comin’. The saying is “change is growth” – unknown, and I do believe that!

    As Rae wishes for herself, I also wish for her!

  10. Donna says:

    As you wish to sparkle, so I wish for you also. x

  11. Dionne the Tea Priestess says:

    Rae this is so honest and open and full of sparkling hope! I wish you best of luck on this journey. As you wish to sparkle so I wish for you as well!

  12. Dionne the Tea Priestess says:

    My posts seem to be getting lost in cyberspace today…
    Best of luck on this sparkly journey of yours! As you wish for yourself Rae, so I wish for you as well!

  13. April Cole says:

    Sending positive thoughts to add sparkle to your wishes!
    As you wish this for yourself, I wish this for you as well.

  14. Mare says:

    Good luck with the appointment with the doctor! I looked into weight loss surgery myself and began the process required by my insurance company. Even if you end up not having the surgery – I didn’t – you learn a lot about yourself and your relationship with food. (My insurance required me to do six months of a different weight loss plan to prove I was serious and I found that I loved Weight Watchers!) I hope you know we’re here for you no matter what!

    As you wish for yourself, so I truly wish for you also.

  15. Sara Rae says:

    Wow. Such big, brave changes in store for you. All the luck and good wishes to you on this journey. Sparkle, Rae, Sparkle!

  16. Kimi B says:

    As Rae wishes for herself, I wish for her also. Sparkly love & light to you, Rae!

  17. kelly barton says:

    happy positive thoughts for your journey to sparkle…as you wish to sparkle, i wish for this for you.

  18. Phoenix says:

    I wish you all the best in this.

    The one thing I need to say is that I hope you can see how much you sparkle now. Celebration of Wellness is one of those serendipity moments that has had a huge impact on me already. You sparkle, you shine, and this year, you’ve lit candles along a much needed path for a good many people. You’re a beautiful soul, and I wish you all the best in this journey.

  19. Pingback: When in Doubt, Dance | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

