When in Doubt, Dance

Somewhere along the course of exploring my sense of wellness during the Celebration of Wellness Blog Party, I discovered a corridor of forgotten dreams.  And to be honest, some of the dreams were new to me, so far from my current reality that I would never before have allowed myself to go to where they beckoned.  But this journey has been about the kind of transformation that you look back at in 5 or 10 years and know that you would never go back to the way things were.  And to know that you would never regret the pain that might accompany the growing.  One of those times when you could see from afar that your life would never have been as excellent as it is if you hadn’t risked breaking out of what you were used to …and comfortable with.

Now to be honest, my life isn’t bad.  I am usually pretty happy, joyful, and balanced.  But I want more than what I have.  I imagine an athlete must feel this way after running their first mile, I imagine they might think…. I want more of that!  I want more of the goodness that is in my life.

So this week’s Wellness Art-ivity is about checking out how focusing on spirituality might have effected other areas of my life.  Well let me tell you!  Those big dreams I discovered have my Wellness Wheel spinning.  And where she’ll stop, nobody knows.

I usually feel like I have the path to my life pretty figured out.  Saying to myself… You see, this is how it is going to be.  You move from here to there and this is the route you take.  But now days, I don’t know where I am going…..BUT, I trust it is good.  And I am not afraid!

Even when The Beloved Universe gives me a kink in the road, I am thinking… Oh, look at what I can do with THAT!

Some of you may have read my Wishcasting Wednesday and Full Moon entries that I have been looking into weight loss surgery.  Well, after visiting with the doc yesterday, it seems I am not covered by my insurance.  I was a bit bummed about it for the day, but today I am taking it in stride.  I have learned a lot from the process thus far.  I don’t know if I will be able to afford to do… and am not sure if there is some other guidance wrapped in that for me.  But, I do know that I am not getting knocked down by it.

That corridor of dreams is amazing, my friends.  And many of them were stuck in that hidden place because the body I have currently can’t manage them.  But just because this one path has been obscured doesn’t mean that I am locking the door again.  I know this because I have all the faith in the world that the door only opened because I had the right key… call that key courage or determination, love of self or strength.  I will work towards those dreams.

I have two art-ivities I want to share for the Show and Tell: Integrating Spirituality.  One I can show you, and the other, tell you.

First, a polyvore creation which expresses my dedication to those dreams, and my determination to never lock them behind door to be forgotten again.

Lastly, I am going on a retreat this weekend.  I have a dear friend who knows just how to support me through times of change.  I had anticipated going to her and sharing the news about upcoming surgery.  But, in its absence, I will be getting quiet and listening for The Next Right Thing.  While there, I am also planning to DANCE.  I hope to create an impromptu representation of the spinning of my Wheel of Wellness.  Perhaps by moving with the wheel, I can come to experience some inkling of what it will feel like when it finally comes to rest.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Celebration of Wellness Blog Party, Dreams, polyvore, wellness, Wheel of Wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When in Doubt, Dance

  1. E says:

    Remember the saying things happen for a reason. It may be you can do it on your own. I hurt my back in 92 and was to the point I could not get out of beg with out help. I did not have insurance so no surgery or doctor was in my grasp. I went to chiropractor, acupuncture massage therapy. I researched healing herbs. All of this lead me to a new life of learning self help. And achieving different levels of wellness. It has turned into a life of knowledge.
    My point I guess is this may have been a life saving gift. As I fear the surgery you speak of because I have seen so many utube story’s. And the one named Damon stuck with me. He is no longer here. And never left the hospital. I see in my friend her life is really worse than before the surgery. She was healthier. And her mind is to the point I really do not like where it is. But it is her life. And I tell do not tell her how bad she looks. As to me she looks like death is not far away.
    So this may be a blessing for you. I mean well with my words.
    E

    • Rae says:

      E, thanks for your support. I know what you mean by the risk. I have seen both success stories and heart ache from that path. 🙂

  2. Keith says:

    Hi honey

    I agree that everything happens for a reason. I am always so happy to read your blog entries! You are such a lovely writer, and the images you choose are so perfect for your messages. I know that the universe has something better than surgery in mind for you, or something better than any of us cd ever imagine! Keep dancing!

    • Rae says:

      Thanks, Keith. I have, of course, been thinking of Kay as I have been on this journey. And I DO trust that all will be well with me. Your support means a lot.

  3. maggie J says:

    This is a time to trust the flow of the river…..
    Thinking of you. mj

Leave a Reply

