Finding the Way

About 10 years ago, I began studying labyrinths.  I learned that they are similar to mazes but that they have on path in and the same path leads out.  There is no way to get lost in a labyrinth.  I also learned how to draw a labyrinth and began constructing them.

My first labyrinth was simply taped to a hardwood floor of an activity center where I was teaching drama classes.  One of the children was particularly fascinated by it.  He would walk the circuits, find his way to the center, and sit crosslegged as his class mates filled his surroundings with mischief, creative expression, energy, and fun.  I approached him to see if he was okay.  He shared that he enjoyed sitting in quiet amongst the chaos.

His journey from the hustle and bustle of the classroom down the pathway of the labyrinth and into his own quiet center became the inspiration for the class performance.  The children moved in organic, undulating motions throughout the ballroom, each one exploring space and expressing their own individual personality.  One by one, the froze and melted onto the shape on the floor.  The boy was the last to stop moving.  Once everyone had found their way to the ground, he began walking between and around them.  With nearly 25 kids to fill the room, they created a kind of labyrinth.  This time they were the stillness and he, the movement.  He found his way to a space that felt centering to him and sat there crosslegged, eyes shut, surrounded by his classmates.

Thought is like this for me sometimes.  At times, my mind is filled with nearly 25 chaotic, creative, energetic thoughts that I seek my center in.  Other times, the thoughts quiet down, and I meander through them, enjoy them, and then settle in amongst them.

This week the Celebration of Wellness encouraged us to explore mental wellness with CURIOSITY.  I created a simple drawing that starts with the mind…swirls out into a maze and ends with the invitation to walk that one direct path inward.  I need the whole picture to feel complete.  I love the creativity, the chaos, and the centered feeling.  And I am grateful that I don’t have to just choose one thing.  I get it all.

To check out the art-ivity responses of the other Creatives who are enjoying our blog party, visit the Show and Tell Page below.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Celebration of Wellness Blog Party, Expressive Art, Wheel of Wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding the Way

  1. Pingback: Labyrinth lost | Madeline Scribes

Leave a Reply

