I am perfect, and I could use a little work.

Welcome back from last week’s Mental Health Break.  Let me invite you to jump into this week’s Celebration of Wellness.  We are spending another week exploring Mental Wellness.

I would like to, at this point, sketch out some of the thoughts I have been having about what it means for me to explore Mental Wellness.  First, I want to claim for myself, and invite you to join me, that investigating wellness, whether from a mental perspective or physical or spiritual, I am not making a statement that there is something wrong with me.  Instead, I am claiming that I want more of a good thing.  This slight shift in thinking helps me keep my intentions on the most beneficial path.  It helps me stay positive.

I say to myself as I once heard Pema Chodron quote from her mentor…I am perfect just as I am, and I could use a little work. This little phrase is important to me.  It offers a way for me to be gentle with myself while I reconstruct a few areas which might benefit from improvement.  It directs me in guiding my thoughts toward self-love and away from judgement.  Judgement is often one of the things that has created pain for me.  It is like an herbicide that is labeled fertilizer.  Nit-picking flaws appears to help me see what needs fixing, but in actuality, it keeps me from growing.   Self-love then become the sunlight for any part of myself that has been trying to grow in the dark. It allows me to bloom.

Wellness Art-ivity: Rigorous Self-love

This week I invite you to instigate a self-love revolution in your life.  Challenge yourself to practice self-love.  Self-love begins in the heart and is shown in action, but thought can either help it or hurt it.  So become curious about how your thoughts support self-love. Everyone will have judgmental thoughts.  It is part of the human condition.  But this art-ivity invites you to have understanding and empathy for the mind’s tendancy to judge.  Yes, to practice self-love of the judgement….to be gentle with the judging mind.  In that way, we help to grow in our ability to love ourselves…even the parts that could use a little work.  Then, create a work of art which shares what you have learned from your week’s focus on self-love.  Return on Friday to share the link to your response.

I look forward to connecting with you all again.  I missed you this week.  Feel free to drop a note in the comment box to let me know how you have been.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Celebration of Wellness Blog Party, self-love, Uncategorized, Wheel of Wellness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I am perfect, and I could use a little work.

  1. rosemary says:

    As always I so look forward to what you have in store for us… I am sure I speak for all when I say you were missed also…. Wow, Self Love- nothing like a challenge to get us all back on track. take care- love and Laughter Sistar- Rosemary

  2. Grammy E says:

    This them goes with the card I just finished for Angela. I am working on the words for it right now. So this is a perfect theme. I do not know why but I had a calling or ideal to paint, name and write about a guide for each person I know. My intent is to send love, healing and learning to all. I have finished 2 cards so far. And I will do one for you when I get to know you better.
    Best wishes E 🙂

  3. What a wonderful quote – the perfect mix of celebratory and inspiring that I find so helpful! I’m looking forward to playing in this week’s art-ivity. Last week I took an unexpected week off from usual and scheduled activities- a wonderful mental health holiday, and now I feel refreshed and ready to move forward again.

  4. Pingback: Judging that gets in the way of Self Love | Finding1sself's Blog

Leave a Reply

