In Full Bloom on my Birthday Moon

This month’s full moon came at the end of my birthday week. I turned 42. This was a big birthday for me because I feel like I have turned some sort of corner. When I was twenty-one, I experienced the loss of my mother. This year as I celebrate my second 21st birthday, I feel a sense of release from the thought patterns that can be created by the loss of someone so incredibly important.

On the other side of the second set of 21 years, I feel like I am starting over. I feel more free and centered. And with this new beginning, I find myself desiring more time alone and more self-nurturing.

My full moon dream board reflects my call for self-care. I have chosen a meditative figure who is listening to her heart. A waterfall pours out in front of her as if she is pouring out her feelings. She is surrounded by water but is grounded by a stable bolder. Two elegant swans make their way thru the water ways…piercing the emotion… gliding thru what is their natural environment. The moon above is flourishing and pregnant with possibility. And off to the side, blooms a cherry tree. The tree is a reminder that Spring is in the air…both for the Earth and for me. It is also a kind of prayer…for Japan…a prayer that just as I have found my way thru the devastation of losing my mother in my youth, that the people and land may find their way to renewal.

This is not a traditional collage as I might do for a dream board…pulled from magazines and pasted together. But this imagine tells a story of what I am feeling inside in a way that I probably wouldn’t be able to portray otherwise. It feels perfect.

As I sit just days into the beginning of my next 21 years, I consider all of the growth the last 21 years brought. This growth is like a lighthouse shining its beacon into the future. I know there will be difficult times, but understanding what I have grown thru brings me much excitement for the growth that is ahead of me.

For more dreamboards, visit Jamie Ridler Studios… you might even think of posting one of your own.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Full Moon Dream Board and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In Full Bloom on my Birthday Moon

  1. Lucy says:

    Love your board. You have lots of understanding of it.

  2. rosemary says:

    Oh how beautifully put. The mama in me just wants to cry tears of joy to see this growth in you. It’s like when a mother looks at their childs art work from the 1st grade to highschool and knowing the struggles they went through and how they took the good from all of that and created peace and contentment in their lives and accepted themselves for who they are. As a sistar, to watch this transformation in you bloom, I too have learned so very much about you and myself as well. Thank you for sharing you with all of us. Love and Laughter- Rosemary

  3. Beautiful, peaceful, moving board.
    Happy belated birthday! Best wishes for the year ahead.

  4. Mariah says:

    Happy belated birthday!!

  5. Rae – Thanks so much for stopping by the mountain mermaid. Your dreamboard is beautiful, and I love your thoughts around your growth and entering the next 21 years. They sound wonderful. Happy belated birthday! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

