DreamCatcher

It has been nearly a year since I finished my graduate degree.  Time flies when you are working hard at what you love.  Although my career as a mental health professional is designed to assist others in transforming their own lives, I have found that being present with others who are manifesting major change makes for some pretty awesome inspiration for my own best living.

This past year, Jamie Ridler’s Wishcasting series has played a major force in my personal development.  What a simple thing, a wish…and yet so powerful.

What do you wish to FOCUS on?

Over a decade ago…or was it two, I found myself privy to a secret yearning which whispered its intentions to me in the quiet of self-reflection.

 …to create a sacred space (a relationship) in which others might access their own creativity for the purpose of healing and living their best lives….

This has been the wind in my sails.  It has molded my personality, guided independent and programed studies, and permeated my career in arts education and massage therapy.

Every once in awhile, I go to that place of self-reflection to make sure I am running true to myself.  It is amazing how many different ways my life mission can be interpreted.  I find that I can very easily take detours that I didn’t intend.

So as I contemplate…What is it you want to FOCUS on?…. I realize it is time to do a bit of DreamCatching.  When I first began working as an independently contracted arts educator, I discovered that I could accomplish much more than I thought I could if I allowed myself to dream on what I desired.  I would give my dream a corporal life by expressing it in someway….collaged dream seeds, creative calendars, career maps, or invented brochures and class fliers.  Eventually I found that by creating a space in reality for these representations of my career hopes, I could begin a path to achieving what once was only an inkling in my mind.  I called my project DreamCatching because I felt as if I could direct the ebb and flow of my career by casting out a web to catch my dreams in. This process has been very powerful.

This call…right now….to DreamCatch is not surprising.  My career for the last 15 years has closely followed the school calendar.  As May drew close, I would begin forecasting my dreams out for the next six months and the six months after that.  As the time got further out, the details were less, but the intention was set in hopes of guiding the opportunities I craved.

May is just around the corner, and I can feel that familiar itch.  What waits for me six months into the future?  Where will I be NEXT year at this time?  Those original dreams whispered from a place of pure hope…a place that existed without the luxury of experience or guarantee.  But today, the whispers have grown into a HOWL and the hope is shored up by grand spikes of accomplishment which has been quarried in six month increments over the last couple of decades.

It is time to get focused again.  Time to look inside and bring what I find there to light.  Time to take that broad, expansive intention and concentrate it into its newest incarnation.  It is time again to focus on the dream and see what I might catch in the process.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Expressive Art, Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to DreamCatcher

  1. GlendaM says:

    As Rae wishes for herself so do I wish for her as well.

  2. Very interesting to read the process of your path.
    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also. Happy dreaming! 🙂

  3. Lucy says:

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  4. Ginny says:

    As Rae wishes for herself, I wish for her as well. There is nothing more powerful than our dreams and nothing more interesting than to watch how they develop.

  5. jamie says:

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also. What beautiful dreams are stirring! I know they will flourish under your loving focus, beautiful Rae. And I’m so glad that Wishcasting has been an important part of the journey. ((hugs))

  6. You have expressed this wish so beautifully in your post. As you wish for yourself, Rae, so do I wish for you as well.

  7. Karen D says:

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also. I love the idea of dream catching.. can’t wait to see where it leads you.

  8. As you wish for yourself, I also wish for you. Here is what I wish for me…
    http://adgb.blogspot.com/2011/04/wishcasting-wednesday-what-do-you-wish_27.html

    I love your blog. It made me see how much more I could have done with mine and inspired me to do more next time. Very wonderful.

  9. April Cole says:

    Love your collage! :]
    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.

  10. Oh, I love this post. Everything you expressed is what I am longing for. I feel like I am in a seed planting stage. I need to go within and see what dreams I can catch. Thanks so much for posting. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also!

  11. As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also!

  12. Mare says:

    That is so wonderful! and I love your idea of dreamcasting! As you wish for yourself, so I truly wish for you also.

  13. Mandy says:

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I too wish for her. Dreams are lovely, wonderful things. Best of luck!

  14. tiatuenge says:

    Wow, very inspiring Rae. You’ve inspired me to make a six month dream board:) As you wish for yourself I wish for you also.

  15. bertie says:

    Rae..your collages are beautiful and your dreams are an inspiration to us to go for our dreams, as well. I especially like how you describe them as planting seeds as we often have to have patience in waiting to watch our dreams break ground. (I have never been very patient!) Your dreams sound like they are well on their way and I wish you joy in your journey. As you wish for yourself, so do I richly wish for you, also! I would love to share my wishcasting with you if you would like to take a peek. http://www.queenbartistry.blogspot.com

  16. What a fascinating process Rae! And as you wish for yourself, so I wish for you as well.

  17. Molly says:

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I joyfully wish also! ~*

  18. Camilla says:

    “It is time again to focus on the dream and see what I might catch in the process.”
    A very thought-provoking wish. As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  19. jamie says:

    Hmmm…it occurred to me, Rae, that maybe you’d want to check out Circe’s Circle this summer – http://www.jamieridlerstudios.ca/circes-circle. hugs, Jamie

  20. Lisa says:

    I just joined wishcast Wednesdays. http://lisaloria.blogspot.com/
    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you.
    Ironically, yesterday I just started a Dream Board.
    They say so much in life is timing.
    Very nice post.

  21. Melinda says:

    OH MY..I absolutely LOVE the first image on wishcasting…the colors…..the magic of it….the third image I am drawn too as well….and your message in the post is excellent….

  22. Pingback: Possibility Surfing | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

