Detours Happen: Reframing the Creative Process

I am sure you have heard the sayings… Say what you mean, and do what you say. I try to live by that.  Honesty and accountability can get you far in life.  But I think these ideas must be tempered with…don’t be afraid to take a detour.

This space has been filled with detour signs, and until today, the announcement of a detour would make me feel like bowing my head in resignation.  I would hear my inner critic whisper…you just don’t do follow-thru.  And on some level I would believe it.  Fortunately, the part of myself in charge of self-care has a stronger voice than the inner critic and so, detours happen.

But today, as I have begun to face the deflation of my big plans for giving away lots of art stuff to lots of people, I found the need for another detour.  Now don’t get me wrong.  I am not sitting on the other side of the computer screen with sad eyes and a broken heart.  I am simply realizing that the water is not quite as deep here as I thought it might be, so my plans for having a drawing don’t quite work.

So you know what that means, right?  I pack up my toys and go home.  No, absolutely not.

Reframing the Creative Process

Just as with any creative project that isn’t going the way I thought it might in the beginning, I adjust, edit, redesign, rehearse, and keep on keeping on.  Blogging is the same way.  This space is a work of art.  It is where ideas and meanings are crafted.

My life as a blogger is developing.  My eyes are sometimes bigger than my audience, though.  This venue is visited by a small but robust group of individuals.  I sometimes mistake the enthusiastic quality of the few for the presence of quantity.  And although the gathering of Creatives is growing, it is still a very intimate circle.  This is a blessing now.  As I find my way as a blogstress and craft this wild space I do it in the safety of a core tribe.  That security will lend itself to more a more rigorous discovery process.  And to me that means the process and the product will be steeped in opportunity.

The Detour

I am going to continue this week of daily posts as I intended. This is my way of celebrating the end of my first year of blogging.  But, instead of continuing to post an offering every day, I am going to encourage anyone who might like to be included in the give-away to post a comment on the Labyrinth Touch Drawing, the Fairy Paper Doll, and/or up-coming July 7th blog where I will giving away one of my wire cuffs.  The give-away will be open until July 14th.

Where Art Thou Going?

So a detour suggests a different direction. In this case, that would be spot-on correct.  I have really enjoyed what I started calling Power Blogging.  A blog a day keeps this girl happy…for now.  So for as long as it serves me… knowing how I just might relish another detour… I am going to jump in on the 30 Days of Creativity bandwagon.

30 Days of Creativity is a social initiative encouraging people to create stuff (anything) every day for 30 days in June.  And since the last two days have include spurts of creativity, I figure I am in good shape to start.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in 30 Days of Creativity, polyvore and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Detours Happen: Reframing the Creative Process

  1. You have such a beautiful voice Rae and you speak with such integrity it is always a joy to listen. Your reflections always make me think, and your creativity is inspiring. I celebrate you and your blogiversary, and I say hooray for detours and reframes. You do both very gracefully, and I’m betting there’s something wonderful to be found in this little steparound.

  2. onewomansmusings says:

    And sometimes those detours are there for a reason, taking us to places we might not expect to go, but where we’re meant to be. Looking forward to the rest of the 30 days of creativity.
    From your english, buddy slim friend, hiding out under her own attempt at blogging. J

Leave a Reply

