Power Blogging

Last night I got a wild hair and decided to do a bit of power blogging to wrap up the last week of the first year since I created Art of Collecting Yourself.  I wasn’t sure a year ago that this blog would take off.  It isn’t the first blog I ever attempted….or the second…or even the third.  Guess forth time is the charm!

But my vision was bigger this time, and it centered around something I am passionate about…living a creative life.  I didn’t originally set out to be so strongly associated with creativity.  It feels strange to just come out and say that, but the truth is that if someone were to describe me to another person without using the word CREATIVE, it would be a lot like describing the Earth without mentioning that it is ROUND! 

So, even though I had my doubts based on past attempts, it makes sense that this subject would work. I know I will never run out of things to say or ways to say them because I can always simply talk about life and be assured my perspective will fit within the boundaries of this site.

When I think of creative living, my very first association is to the power of healing through self-expression.  As a young girl, I discovered a love for acting.  It gave me a sense of strength and self-assuredness that I had never found anywhere else.  As a college student, I discovered that visual art could provided relief for stress and was an effective vehicle for bringing to the outside what wish to be shared from within.

One of the most direct associations I have between art and healing came at the end of an agonizing week of back pain four years ago.  I was bed-ridden, unable to sit or stand without wanting to scream.  As the medicine worked its magic, I found that I could sit upright for short periods of time.  A bag filled with art supplies found its way to the table where I took refuge from the long hours spent living on the couch.  A stray scrap of paper was my canvas.  Just larger than a business card, it was roomy enough to capture my imagination but small enough to promise completion by the time my back demanded a return to my convalescence.

After a few trips to the table, I had a small but growing collection of little paper dolls.  I called them fairies.  They brought me joy and took my mind off the incessant drone of pain.  Over that last four years, I have created quite a collection of these figures.  They accompanied me through the death of loved ones, the grief over losing a child, and life’s general stresses and anxieties.

With such a record, I couldn’t help but include one of my fairy dolls in the Blissful Blogging Giveaway.  The picture below includes several of the tiny drawings.  The one in the center that looks like a tree spirit is today’s gift. I have written an inspirational poem along her flip-side.

If you would like to be considered for this little work of art, simply include a comment below.  I will continue sharing expressive works all week long….each one to find a new home.  Maybe yours!  Feel free to comment for each art offering.  I think it will be fun to have a significant drawing.  And nothing prevents you from going back and commenting for days that have past.  I will be doing the final drawing on the 14th to give plenty of opportunities for participation.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Connecting, Creative Living, Expressive Art, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Power Blogging

  1. Grammy E says:

    You can count me in on this one. I can relate to the back problems. Mine has awoke again last week. It has been gone for a few yearn now. But I have spent many years with this pain and lack of even being able to get up on my own. The roots symbolize grounding with the earth and becoming one with the world.
    Thank you for stopping by me place to.
    E:)

  2. Oh what a glorious peek at your fairy dolls, and the Tree Spirit is wonderful! I’d love to be entered in your drawing. What an amazing trove of treasures sprouting from a time that was so challenging.

  3. rhonda says:

    These are beautiful!!!

  4. Pingback: The Give-Away | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  5. Thea Maia says:

    I delight in your little fairy! I have been considering a blog myself!

Leave a Reply

