30 Days of Creativity: Sanctuary for Imagination

I light a candle and sit on the meditation cushion I recently found for my creativity closet.  My home is a 1940’s cape code that has a very large closet running the nearly the depth of the house upstairs.  Although it is not much wider than its door, it makes for an interesting little studio.  Sharing the house with four other artist means I also have a space all my own which can be imperative for cultivating creativity.

I sit with my sand mandala.  The last couple of days, this simple bowl of sand has been the focus of my spirit’s desire for creative expression and a sort of sanctuary for my imaginary.  For me, it is a blend between a mandala, a sand garden, a little swatch of nature I might have turned into a magical world as a child, and a kind of altar where those things that are most sacred can come to light.

This kind of creativity is unusual for me. It’s purpose is pure process.  It is impermanent and extremely compelling. And although not all my art is for product’s sake, the sand mandala keeps me in contact with the most pure aspects of creativity. It activates a place inside which feels ancient and connected to the most primal part of myself.

Be sure to visit 30 Days of Creativity for the work of my Creative Spirits.

Related articles

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in 30 Days of Creativity, Creative Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Days of Creativity: Sanctuary for Imagination

  1. Grammy E says:

    I love your sand mandala. It looks so peaceful. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Inside my ReTREAT {sand mandala} | Creativity Tribe

Leave a Reply

