Happy Blog-GIVE-ersary

I didn’t know when my blog started out where it might end up a year later.  One probability was on the cutting room floor like the blogs I had started before.  But that has been the big lesson of the year, going with the flow.  That seems to have worked.

    • Did I know I would meet so many incredible people through my blog…NO.
    • Did I know my blog would take me to so many interesting sites….NO.
    • Did I know it would be transformed by the addition of Polyvore…NO.
    • Did I know that I would be transformed by connecting with the wishcasters at Jamie Ridler’s Studio, a site I had found years before but just peaked in on occasionally until I started this blog….NO.
    • Did I know that the blog would become the venue for the biggest and best dreams of my life…NO.

Sitting here at the year mark is a curious place. Several times this week I found myself in conversations with others who are starting out new blogs. Gosh, I remember the difficulty with figuring it all out. I still have SO much to learn about communicating in this way. But it feels rewarding to be able to lend this year’s experience to the new blogsters.

The other reason this such and interesting place to be is that what I have created here is only an inkling of what I wish to offer the world. I muddle through my biggest dreams a bit at a time as I figure out how they will work, in much the same way I muddled through here in the beginning.


But here are a few things I know….a sneak peak if you will. This place, Art of Collecting Yourself, is a training blog. And it is about time to move up to the next size. I have talked for several months off and on about a new site. It is slowly taking form. It will have the same flavor as this place, but I hope to offer a bit more intensity. Right now it is like a spare room where you have stuffed all the supplies for that HUGE party you are planning at the end of the summer. Exciting, but a tad bit daunting.

But all these things happened….how?  I kept showing up to the blank screen, asking, What of myself do I share with the world?  And what of the world do I bring to this space?  And a collaboration began between myself and the Universe….including, of course, some of you.

But all that is to just whet your imagination.  My big pleasure today is to offer one of my favorite works of art, my jewelry.  Several years ago…nearly a lifetime now it seems… I fell in love with WIRE.  I have made all kinds of things with it, tiny creatures, figures nearly as tall as I am, crazy hats, and all kinds of jewelry.  Somehow I became known for the wire cuffs.  To me they were little altars I could carry around on my wrist, reminding me, like Wonder Woman, that I am powerful and creative.  Reminding me that my body is worthy of adornment and that even something as simple as a piece of wire could become a treasure if I intended it to be and used my imagination to bring that intention to life.

So as I sat deciding what I might offer to you, my guests, my supporters, my family and friends…..my Bohemian Tribe of Creative Spirits, I felt like a wire cuff would be perfect.

To become part of the drawing, simply leave a comment.  The drawings will be open for one week. I am giving way the labyrinth drawing, a fairy paper doll, and this skeleton cuff. Please leave a comment on the other two if you want to be considered for that as well.  That way I am not giving something to someone who really wanted to only be included for this.  On the 15th, I will have the drawings, and the winners will be notified by email.

Thank you for being a part of this journey.  This blog has brought me so much joy and has been a great teacher to me.  And I hope this space has offered you something in return.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Blog-GIVE-ersary

  1. Sarah Lulu says:

    Wishcasting Wednesday has transformed my life too!

    Many blessings to you and Happy Anniversary.

  2. rosemary says:

    Rae, As much as it is a party for you it to is a party of sorts for me as well. I have been so inspired by your blog. As we have experianced Seridentidy many times – Sunday Mike put on Julia and Julie and it was about Julia childs and another Julie that took exactly 1 year to cook all of Julia Childs recipes and she Blogged about it each day and the ups and downs of it all… it was a wonderful movie in my opinion – hope you have time to watch it I think you would relate to her blogging experiance. love and laughter-Rosemary

  3. Congratulations on your year anniversary. Your passion helped you to show up for this blog consistently and with good quality. You are an inspiration. Keep it up

    Brother Patch

  4. Mare says:

    I’m so grateful for Wishcasting Wednesdays and all the people that have come into my life because of it.

    Happy Anniversary!

  5. Comment! (: It looks lovely.

  6. Pingback: Curve Ball | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

