Curve Ball

Well, the 15th has come and gone, and yet, no drawing.  Life has other plans for me.  On the 15th when I had planned to gather up all the entries for the give-aways, put them in a hat, and draw names for the winners, I was thrown a curve ball.

Curve Ball

Several years ago, my family got the devastating news that my cousin’s husband, Larry, had Lou Gehrig’s disease (ALS).  ALS is a monster of a disease that often hits very active men.  After a courageous battle, Larry died Wednesday.

My blog is about living a creative life, and as much as that means doing art or writing or manifesting your dreams, at it’s core, living a creative life is about making LIFE itself your canvas.

Larry and I were different in lots of ways.  He was very active and sporty, loved hunting, basketball, being outdoors.  I am happy in front of a computer, drawing, reading, and sipping tea.  But one place where Larry and I meet is in our approach to living a life uniquely designed for us.

Larry carved his life out so that it met his passions.  He was a dedicated father, because that was his passion.  He arranged to take breaks from work during the hunting season, because that was his passion.  He worked hard at playing and often created a space for others to join him, because that was his passion.  In the end, Larry’s life was taken from him way too soon.  But when I look at it from the outside, I can appreciated the passion he packed into every moment of the life he was given.  That is a creative life!  And that is how I want to live.

I will be postponing the drawing until next week.  I am going to spend some time with my family.  They are MY PASSION.  I invite you to celebrate the life of Larry with me by doing something that is YOUR PASSION.  And I would love to hear what that is!

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Curve Ball

  1. rosemary says:

    I am sure I speak for all of us when we say we understand and it will make recieving the gifts that much more special.you just go on and take the time you need be passionate about taking care of your family now… . Love u.

  2. Karla says:

    Awww, sorry to hear that. I am taking time out with my craft and other thing to go spent my time wth my sister in law. She have ask me to go with her to a bbq that her work is raising money. Why, I am taking some time out with that, is my sister in law, had gone thur cancer it all started 2009 and keeps coming back every year, this time the chemo treatment it working. We will know some time in a few months if it working.

  3. Angela Ripley says:

    I will be celebrating the life of Larry with my beautiful cousins. I wish we had the chance to of grown up closer together but distance makes it hard.
    My passion would be my babies – and looking into their souls to learn the amazing traits that they were born with. Everyday they teach me something new about their life, my life and life!

  4. melody says:

    What a glorous example ‘for living life to the full’ you were given in your cousin Larry!

    I am sorry for your loss and the ‘hole’ that will be felt in the family – but I cannot help think how much of a blessing it is to have such a great example. When the grieving is over and the time is right the stories of Larry’s greatness will be heard and Larry will continue to be celebrated and be part of the family!

    I suddenly have a much deeper understanding of the words — The king is dead, long live the king!
    Thank you for that!

    ‘Sipping tea and being’ sounds like perfect medicine for the next few days and we eager, hungry viewers of your art and wisdom can wait..
    and we will learn a fabulous gift….

    patience! (BIG SMILES)

  5. Alli says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. It sounds like Larry was a great guy. Sipping tea and reading a book is how I like to relax too. Sending you lots of good thoughts during this time.

    ~Alli

  6. Sherry K. says:

    We all get the curve balls from time to time. Bless you and yours. Great and joyful way to remember!

  7. onewomansmusings says:

    Larry sounds like he left some great lessons on how to live life. As I always say there are messages in those curve balls – enjoy your time with your family and reclaiming your other passions in life! Im writing this enjoy a lazy Saturday morning coffee before I have to go and do overtime – some important me time in the madness of the weekend.

  8. Pingback: Crossing the Line: Embracing Death with Creativity | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

