Creativity Zones

Living in a house with three other Creative Spirits can establish free space as a commodity.  When it was just my artist hubby and me, we each had a studio where we would create to our heart’s desire.  Now those rooms have been passed over to our roommates, and what filled the studios has spilled out into our living areas.

Now I am not opposed to living with an aura of eclecticism about me, in fact, I prefer that, but I find that having open space amid the clusters of interest helps to boost my creative potential.  With that in mind, I have begun another level of pealing away the unnecessaries in hopes of delineating more inspiring Creativity Zones.

 

I have started with book control.  One of our favorite places to socialize or to get away when we need a break from life is a local Half Price Book Store that has a cafe attached to it.  What peace there is among the books and jars of coffee beans!  But years of patronizing these establishments has led to an abundant library of great buys and must reads that like poorly designed towers climb the walls of my house.

 

So, I spent last evening sorting one book nest, separating the good eggs from the bad.  And this morning hubby and I cheered as we watched a whole flock of books make their way back to the where they first came from.  We traded a huge box for two small craft books and a fist fulla dollars.

Tonight, there is a shift in the house.  I haven’t accomplished all I want, but I have made a valiant start.  And the rush of success I initiated with the books has given me energy for the next layer of reordering in my home so that I can optimize my Creativity Zones.

SHOW and TELL

Tell me about the Creativity Zones in your life.  Do you have a space in your home?  What might you do to boost its effectiveness? Or if don’t have a space, could you create a one? What would it be like? Where do you get your creativity groove on?  And what makes that space optimum for expressing yourself?

Related articles

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Creativity Zones

  1. One of the guest rooms functions as my Creativity Zone. It’s filled with all things that inspire me as a writer and crafter. My writing desk houses my computer and notebooks, while a bookshelf nearby holds all my writing books and reference materials. Not to mention a few knick-knacks to inspire stories. The closet is filled with craft supplies of all shapes and sizes. The walls hold photographs of past memories and a bulletin board of items that inspire me to move forward.

    Very often I write in coffee shops, but my writing room is my source of contemplation. All my ideas start here, even if I almost always write elsewhere. 🙂

    Great post!

  2. Martha says:

    I had one a lovely room and then my creativity sort oozed over the threshold and all over the house. Havoc. Just pure crazy piles of creative havoc everywhere.You’ve inspired me to make another space to play. I’ll send you a picture when it’s done! Cheers, RP. You rock.

    • Rae says:

      Martha, always a treat to have you stop by. Yes, creativity does ooooooze! Some days that is no prob, but it can certainly get outta hand. As for inspiring you…hey, guess we are even, huh?

  3. mtnmermaid says:

    I have an amazing studio that serves as my office and creativity zone. Still trying to find the balance – or a way to differentiate between the two. I work on the computer for my ‘living’, so I need to be able to want to stay in the space for other creative work after…and not get sucked back into the computer. Good thing to contemplate in a proactive way, so thank you for the prompt!

    • Rae says:

      I’ve had times where my work space and play space were the same. It can be a big challenge. Let us know how that works for you. I love opportunities to learn from each other.

  4. Pingback: Seeing the Creative Process | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  5. Pingback: The Art of Collecting Yourself

  6. Pingback: Creativity Zones: Sanctuary of the Studio | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  7. Pingback: Creativity Zones: Creating a Workable Mess | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

