Getting my Tweak On!

About a month ago, I overheard one woman talking to another at the cafe.  I was sitting by myself, drawing, and as my mind will sometimes do, it wandered in and out of their conversation.

Imagination

Imagination by Rashamaria on Polyvore.com

Now I am not accustom to holding onto conversations like that.  They basically go in one ear and out the other.  But one of the comments by one of the women has stayed with me.  She told her friend she had started tweaking her food. I remember getting caught on her choice of words.  TWEAK.  It revolutionized the concept of change for me.

TWEAKing means baby steps.  TWEAKing implies boosting what works.  TWEAKing hints at increasing precision. And something about TWEAKing feels free of judgement and self-blame.

TWEAKing leaked into imagination.  What could I TWEAK? TWEAKing has all kinds of possibilities!  TWEAKing food I understood.  That meant choosing the skinny latte over the full fat latte and the organic cheese over the regular cheese. Could I TWEAK more than food?

I tried TWEAKing movement this week.  It started with talk.  I began talking about how I wanted to TWEAK my movement.  Then the talk turned to TWEAKing how I actually moved.  And the TWEAKing was addictive!  I walked at the mall with my artist hubby and danced the next night.  Parking farther meant more movement.  A cleaning spree even more.

But the cleaning spree meant I could TWEAK my routine.  Three day in a row, I have included a bit of organizing into my day.  TWEAKing other routines as well.

Now I am wondering what areas of my life are TWEAK resistant.  I have a feeling there aren’t many.  TWEAKing is about being creative.

One of the practices in my life this last year which has inspired creative change is the practice of Wishcasting.  Jamie Ridler crafts weekly wishing prompts to get our creative juices flowing.  This week she asks…

What do you wish to try?

I have been allowing the TWEAKing concept to very organically flow through me.  But this week I wish to TWEAK proactively. So I am getting my TWEAK on!  This week’s TWEAK is going back to it’s origins: TWEAKing food.

But I don’t just mean choosing the healthier version of food.  I wish to listen to my INNER TWEAK. What minuscule modifications would she encourage? Like a seasoned mechanic listening for the squeak in an engine, I want her to seek out that shift that is needed in the moment.  So that TWEAKing becomes about mindfully managing life.  I wish to TWEAK on my feet rather than to passively ride the habit rapids of life to where ever my old story rivers lead me.

TWEAKing

TWEAKing by Rashamaria on Polyvore.com

SHOW and TELL

What are you TWEAKing in your life?  How does the term TWEAK speak to you?  Does it change the concept of change?  How? What would listening to your INNER TWEAK do to your life?  It’s time to Show and Tell.  And the Creative Spirits who gather here wanna hear from you.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living, TWEAKing, Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Getting my Tweak On!

  1. Holly Gray says:

    What a cool concept. This makes so much sense to me. I tend to go overboard with change, get overwhelmed and quit, feeling defeated and powerless. I really like the idea of just tweaking things. It seems so much more do-able.

    Awesome!

  2. LaWendula says:

    Hi, I like the word, I only heard it once before in the film “you’ve got mail”. I think it’s hard to translate this into German.
    What I like about it is the sound. It sounds like something your baby does. Tweak tweak.
    And that fits with the baby steps.
    I think tweaking your food is a real great idea. For me this was: eating a salad every day. As often as possible. Drink more. Only a little bit but more.
    Just now I want to tweak my writing a bit. I really want to write with my hand more often, not only on the computer. I want to send handwritten letters to my blogfriends, instead of using e-mails all the time.

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    PS: There is KING and TEA in the word Tweaking, nice, isn’t? so maybe you should become the TweaQueen! 😉

    • epapaluap says:

      How about “(f)einstellen” as a German translation? I know it’s probably not really a word, but it somehow seems to convey the idea of improving something in small steps (though maybe this meaning is found only in my technical translation brain…)

      • Rae says:

        I looked up the “(f)einstellen” and it seemed to imply some of the same qualities. Oh, words are fun!

        • LaWendula says:

          Yes they are and I love those many false friends you have in German. Like “Body bag” (in German a purse you take under your arms) or “Public viewing” ( seeing a soccer match in public on a huge screen). Haha, this is such a good laugh.

          I always like to play around with those lovely english words like “cherish”, this must have something to do with cherries! 🙂 And the TweaQueen is so great. I will put this in my private dictionary!

      • LaWendula says:

        In the German version from “you’ve got mail” they used “an etwas feilen” as the word.
        I think it comes very close to that. Feinstellen ist auch gut. Aber das hat nicht dieses nette “tweak”- wie “quiek” im Deutschen.

    • Rae says:

      Maybe there is a TweaQueen in all of us?!

  3. epapaluap says:

    Remember Wayne and Garth and their exhortation to “Party on!”? Well I say, “Tweak on!”

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you too!

    P.S. Sorry about the rather arcane Saturday Night Live reference. Just popped into my head.

  4. April Cole says:

    “Tweak” away… !
    You have my full support and hugs too :]
    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.

  5. emmainbxl says:

    Oh such a nice word!
    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also 🙂

  6. Camilla says:

    I like the idea of tweaking. It seems to be a manageable level of change. Baby steps, instead of a gigantic life overhaul.

    I have been tweaking my food, without having labeled it as such. From now I, i am tweaking!

    As you wish for yourself, so I with for you also.

  7. Ginny says:

    Sounds like you have hit with the word tweaking. It makes me think of changes that can be managed easily. So I am on board with tweaking several things this week. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.

  8. Lucy says:

    Great wish to Tweak something. Love that you put definitions in. As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  9. susannasays says:

    Now i haven’t heard that word in a while, but it is going to be my new favourite for quite a while. I love the exchange about etymology (also one of my favourite subjects). I can see that my blog post will contains some element of tweaking…basically and mainly because it sounds doable. In this heat i am not getting enough exercise, my energy is lagging, and i am feeling grumpy as a result. I’m on board too! As you wish for yourself, Rae, so i wish for you too…with all my heart!

  10. Pingback: Try… | AtLooseEnds

  11. I love this on so many levels… your energy is spot on!
    As you wish for yourself, Rae m’love, so I wish for you also….

  12. Sandy V says:

    I love that…tweak – it makes it sound “do-able”! Here’s to all your tweaking. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you!

  13. MishMish says:

    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her too.

  14. Vanessa says:

    As you wish for yourself I wish for you as well…

  15. Mare says:

    That is a brilliant idea! Tweaking sounds fun and definitely not negative – I might steal the practice! As you wish for yourself, so I truly wish for you also.

  16. Kim says:

    Oh wow! I love this idea! TWEAKing. Such a cool idea–thanks for sharing it!

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you as well.

  17. lets see Rae Tweaky or Tweaky Rae, I like the sounds of that… Tweak Sistar

  18. I really love this. Yes, tweaking. Such an easy way to begin!!

  19. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you, for the greatest good of all concerned!

  20. Mouse says:

    Oh wow, I love it! Tweaking! Bet I think of that every time I hear about someone tweeting!!!

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you too 🙂

  21. Wonderfully bubbly, energetic, proactive post! 😀
    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  22. Serena says:

    I LOVE it when something really resonates like this snippet of conversation did with you!! You do know that you were meant to hear that, don’t you? You do know that that’s the way our sneaky higher self / guardian angel/ divine guidance gets messages to us, don’t you? One of the ways, that is. She/He has many cool tricks like this up His/Her sleeve. Hee hee! I love it.

    And then, when you said…” Like a seasoned mechanic listening for the squeak in an engine…” THAT line totally resonated with me and it helped me grasp the amazingness of the concept of TWEAKing, too. Gracias! And furthermore, As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you as well!!

  23. Pingback: Juicy News « World of Curiosity

Leave a Reply

