The Story Beneath: Discovering the Creativity World

I had just turned twenty and could feel myself coming out of the fog that was adolescence and arriving with wide, curious eyes at the mouth of a great river which promised to lead me into the adventure of adulthood.  To my parents’ dismay, I positioned myself for a career in arts, specifically theater, a major I had chosen because something about it made me feel more myself.

Curious Mind

Absurd.  How could one feel more themselves when they were acting like someone else? I wasn’t sure, I just knew my theater classes held more value than the simple subjects we were asked to study.  Somehow, I found myself enveloped in lessons of life.

Being a theater major was a lifestyle. We didn’t just go to class. We had rehearsal and performances; we encouraged ourselves to experience life in unusual, intense ways.  We pushed ourselves and each other.  Theater was exciting.

Kaziah's Dark Nature

Initially, I simply followed what the director told me to do, but before long, I realized I could expect certain things.  I knew there would be mundane tasks like memorizing and waiting while others rehearsed their parts. I would experience great highs like discovering the one line that unlocked my character and the exhilaration a group of strangers nailing a particularly synchronistic performance. I knew there were times when the story being acted out on stage would come to life, and I began to realize that under that story if I listened carefully, I could hear an inner epic tale which played on as I managed the creative process.

As I turned twenty that year, I became more curious about the characters and plot of that inner story, which I began calling my Creativity World, than the stories being dramatized on stage.  I discovered elements in theater’s creative process that mirrored the elements in other creative arts I was exploring.  The biggest lesson from those early years in college came from the Creativity World. It helped me to understand why following that path had felt so dire even when others couldn’t understand its importance.  I wasn’t just playing make believe, the dramatic arts served as a great teacher and have provided valuable practices for approaching the ultimate creative project, my very own life.

Deva

As I look into this next year of blogging and begin to craft my new blog home, this inner story will be part of my focus.  I hope you will join me in exploring how the Creativity World works and how to best work it.  I am looking forward to sharing my discoveries and supporting you as you gift this community with the ways creativity moves and breathes in your life.

Creative Process

Show and Tell

Do you have a creative project you are currently working on or just finished?  Or one you might like to start?  Let us know what is going on in your Creativity World.  Even if what is going on is that you are dreaming about starting something special but just haven’t yet. We would love to see pictures and read your posts if you want to provide a link. Let’s create something awesome together.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in creativity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Story Beneath: Discovering the Creativity World

  1. looking forward to keeping in touch during all this. Thanks for posting these links – I’m off to visit them.
    walk in beauty.

  2. Pingback: Leading creative people « It's more fun than a TPS report…

  3. onewomansmusings says:

    Beautiful and inspiring as ever. I followed my parents advice and didn’t study theatre at the age of 16. 20 years on and I am fortunate enough to have rediscovered performing and realise it is the one time I feel the most scared, most excited and most alive in the same moment.

  4. Pingback: Seeing the Creative Process | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  5. Pingback: The Art of Collecting Yourself

  6. Pingback: First 100 Days of Flight: 11-20 | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  7. Pingback: Creative Process {the in-between times} | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

