My Life as Harry Potter

Sitting in the movie theater last night with the 3D glasses hiding my I-Can’t-See-Without-Them glasses, I watched as the epic tale of Harry Potter and friends came to an end. From the moment the movies started years ago, I felt the link between Harry’s adventure and my own.

On the big screen, I saw layer upon layer of his story mirror the stories that I tell myself about my own being.  There is the loss of a parent (in his case two), feeling marked by the moment of death.  There are the friends who know my battles and engage in them with me.  There is the part of myself fighting those dark parts of the psyche which must not be named, and the gift of craft (in this case arts and crafts…creativity) which I use to change my life.

Even thought the greater story of Harry Potter is all wrapped up for me now, my own story will go on as true stories do.  I will find reflections in other tales great and small which will help me understand myself.  That is the medicine of story.

Show and Tell

Where do you see your inner story mirrored in popular culture?  Are there movies, songs, books, or works of art that speak to you?  Let us know.  Either leave a comment or write a blog-piece and drop a link in the comments.

More Harry? 

If you are a Potter friend, you might check out Pottermore.  It seems JK Rowling has another trick up her sleeve.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living, Storytelling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Life as Harry Potter

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    The potter series has helped me reflect on my own life. Like you said, there’s a link between harry and us.

    • Rae says:

      Jeyna, more than any of the movies, I felt it in this one. I am sure that is what made the story to HUGE for so MANY people. It is Universal!

  2. Janece says:

    I have a confession to make. I’ve not only never seen a whole Harry Potter movie, I’ve never read any of the books, either. What does that say about me?? LOL 🙂

    I’ve seen parts of my life reflected in art…. There were bits and pieces of me in Susan Sarandon’s character in, “The Banger Sisters” (a little GOLDIE, too! LOL) I saw some of me in Diane Keaton’s character in “Something’s Gotta Give” (collecting white rocks, writer, aging, etc.). And I’m sure I’ve seen other aspects of my life in films…

    The funny thing is, I’ve totally related to the characters in many many MANY books that I’ve read – and for the life of me – I can’t think of a one! But at the time? Ohhhh, I was feeling it! Laughing, crying….

    • Rae says:

      Love the Banger Sisters! That is a great story about living authentically. I haven’t seen Something’s Gotta Give. But even your mention of seeing life in art reminds me that all those amazing expressions of self by artists, poets, actors, and the like just beg for someone to relate. That is why creativity is so important. Not only does it allow the individual to show the world a little something about themselves, it allows the world to find themselves in what was created.

  3. Bev says:

    Have loved the whole series from the beginning. I am sad to see it end – that’s why I’m holding off a bit to see the final movie. There is such depth in this series. What a magnificent way for kids (and adults for that matter) to be drawn into reading! I wonder what direction she will take next.
    Just wanted to let you know that I held my draw and unfortunately you did not get chosen. Thank you so much for stopping by and being part of the draw. I appreciate your support.

  4. If you need a little help trying to figure out your color scheme check out this article on Free Online Color Scheme Designers
    ‘ they’re sure to help you get started. You will get professional legal
    advice on how your claim should work and the steps to take in order to
    receive compensation. You should make sure that you do get the medical certificates from the doctors you visit or the hospitals where you were
    admitted to.

Leave a Reply

