Curiosity Quest: Juice Feast

Big, quick change in my world.  At the beginning of the month I started my Curiosity Quest to see where my relationship with fruits and veggies might go if I got more curious about them.  This happened at the same time I was feeling a bit under the weather with a summer cold.  So I thought, why not focus on upping my intake of these little treasures.

So I did and inadvertently, I cut out caffeine and refined sugar at the same time.  I didn’t realize I had done this til I got a horrible headache Tuesday morning that lasted throughout the day.  Then it dawned on me, I had been without the two for a few days.  I decided to keep with it just to see what happens.  So far, my energy is all over the map.  I am tired one minute and crawling with energy the next.

This weekend, I spent some time with Irene Jaan of The Travel Creatives (if you have never visited her place, it is worth a quick jaunt to take a peek into her magical world).  She popped over to borrow my juicer for a juice fast.  She told me about the new documentary Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead with Joe Cross.  So, hubby and I took a gander at it.

This documentary follows Joe as it does a 60 day fast of juices from fresh fruits and veggies, especially greens.  I spent a lot of time last year looking into juicing and green smoothies, but I never actually tried a juice fast (I actually prefer to call it a feast… afterall, it would be a major feast of nutrients).

So I started to wonder…Could this be where my Curiosity Quest will lead me?

Having detoxed off caffeine and sugar already, I figure the detox might not be too bad.  In the movie, Joe talks a lot about rebooting.  His premise is that by doing the fast, the taste buds and body start to crave healthier, fresher foods.  I think that would be awesome.

But, true to the nature of my Curiosity Quest, I want to go in with a spirit of inquisitiveness and have an open end to the experience.  So I am not defining how long I will do it, simply that I want to experience as much of it as feels right for me.

The Juice Feast starts Saturday.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living, Curiosity Quest, Self-Care, TWEAKing, wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Curiosity Quest: Juice Feast

  1. workingonthemindbodyandspirit says:

    Congrats for getting rid of caffine and sugar. I’ve thought about doing that but I’m afraid then I wouldn’t make it through the day. Good luck on the juicing!

    • Rae says:

      I have been able to do caffeine and sugar for periods of time before. It usually makes me feel awesome once I get over the first few days. Having a cold on top of it is making me recognize how tired I am. But I am hoping the detox will be easier because of it. That is what keeps me going for now. Super excited about the juicing! Stopped by a fruit stand this morning to scope out the yummies. Thanks for the support.

  2. Janece says:

    ooohhh, can’t wait to hear about your juicing experience! It’s something I’ve wanted to do – and even had a juicer for awhile. I made one juice – using beets, which turned everything red. LOL – and decided against it. I think it was the juicers fault because it was just so messy! But everyone I know who juices as a lifestyle LOVES it! Maybe I should try it again…just not today. LOL 🙂

    CONGRATS on the caffeine and sugar withdrawal. Thats huge!!

    • Rae says:

      Thanks, Janece! I am sure I will need the support to stay motivated. Feeling a bit wobbly in the knees, but excited too. I am planning on juicing some beets. I think the red is fabulous. But I am sure my kitchen counters aren’t looking forward to it!

  3. Pingback: My plan. | 324lbs.

  4. greg urbano says:

    i started my own juice fast anfter watching the same movie, my toughest challenge to date is probably the caffine withdrawls, good thing you cut that before possibly tackling the juice fast!

    • Rae says:

      Glad it is working for you Greg. Yep, I think going off the sugar and caffeine before hand was a good move for me. Good luck with your Feast.

  5. Pingback: Juicy News « World of Curiosity

Leave a Reply

