Curiosity Quest: Juice Feast Day 3

Lots of people on the planet today are juice fasting, some might even be calling it a juice feast.  This isn’t a new concept, folks have been doing it for a very long time.  But recently, with the release of the documentary Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead, the concept has gotten more attention.  And people are on fire for it.

How do I know?  It is everywhere I look:  The blogosphere is swimming in juice, youtube has a healthy heap of testimonies, and even the America’s Fattest City is talking about it.

I happen to live in Corpus Christi, Texas, the town Men’s Magazine has ranked the FATTEST city in America for 2010.  Last year, as a wrote about visiting the West Coast, I felt the weight of my weight more than ever.  While there, I drank as much fresh juice as I could get my hands on.  Since we were visiting Portland and Seattle, that was pretty easy.

This month, I started a Curiosity Quest to look at the role fruits and veggies play in my life.  As I started, I was reminded of the wish I made in the Fall of last year to live a Northwestern life while I made my home in the South.  Taking on a juice fast fits that lifestyle.

Today is Day 3 of my Juice Feast.  When I started the Curiosity Quest, I didn’t know it would lead me here.  And I am not 100 % sure where it will lead me next.  That is the thing about curiosity, it provides a world of possibility.  I am learning a lot about the nutrient values of fruits and veggies, the healing properties, and finding some awesome recipes for upping how much I’ll eat once the Juice Feast is done.

More than learning about fruits and veggies, the Curiosity Quest is teaching me about myself.  I learned this week about hunger.  Amazing, but it didn’t kill me.  I learned that I can be organized and that I can inspire others (my hubby and room mate joined me on the feast…in all actuality, we are inspiring one another.) I learned that I don’t have to get attached to body discomfort like the cold symptoms or headaches that come with the detox. And I discovered a whole new layer of comforting and loving myself.

I think this will be one of those months that I won’t forget in the near future, one of those months where the experiences I have had will settle down in the foundation of my being and make living better.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living, Curiosity Quest and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Curiosity Quest: Juice Feast Day 3

  1. katiestew says:

    How long did your juice diet last? What types of benefits did you find with it? I’m curious too.

    • Rae says:

      Hey Katie, I am still on it. 🙂 I am not sure how long I will stay on it. Possibly up to 60 days. Today is the 3rd day. So far, I have lost quite a bit of water weight…7 pounds. The first several days are a major detox, so there are ways I don’t feel good at all. That is nothing compared to how I feel about myself for giving me the chance to eventually feel better. I will keep posting as I progress. Thanks for visiting!

  2. melody says:

    Woohooo! Thanks for the inspiration Rae! In winter (as it is in Sydney Australia) I have all but forgotten the green smoothies, but the sun is warming and lengthening slowly and so in the next couple of weeks I can feel the urge coming home to lighten with the coloured lights of vegies and small amounts of fruit.
    PS – my favourite (banana) is still 15.95 per kilo due to the loss of banana plantations in our floods last summer – so bananas are still a luxury fruit at present…. time to explore others, methinks!

    • Rae says:

      Ahhh, Melody! It is always a luxury to have you visit! I can understand having the sensation of wanting green smoothies as the season changes. My body did the same thing. Funny bodies! I wish I could ship some bananas to you. My father got a hold of a CRAZY amount of them about a month ago and said if someone didn’t take them they would go to waste. I scooped them up and have frozen them…waiting for the juice feast to end so I can whip up a ‘nana smoothie. Enjoy your summer!

  3. melody says:

    I almost forgot – I love your sense of curiousity that you are exploring with life … it is so necessary if we are to grow more fully into ourselves… thank you for the continuous reminder through your blogs..hugz Mx

  4. Pingback: Juicy News « World of Curiosity

Leave a Reply

