Staying in the Game

This afternoon, I was reading a blog post by my friend Bunny from The Mighty Bunny in which she shared about a little note her son’s teacher sent home on a turtle shaped piece of paper.  Bunny talked about the journey she has been on over the last year and making her way into a new routine.  Her story reminded me of a visitor I had late one night about six years ago who’s message still speaks to me loud and clear.

My husband and I were preparing to buy a house, our first together.  We had big dreams for the little cottage a few blocks off the water.  As we were driving back from the café to our cramped apartment around midnight, we found a turtle in the middle of the road, in the middle of the city.  We stopped, picked it up snapping and kicking and deposited in into a small pond on the edge of town.

That night I dreamed of the little turtle.  He stretched out his wrinkled neck and asked me why he had come into my life.  The next morning I pondered it and figured he was a sign to be patient with the slowness that might come with finding a home and to remind me that my home was never far away, because it was were ever I was. The advice came in handy as we place one contract after another.  Finally, though, by practicing patience, we landed the house of our dreams, a far more perfect fit than any of the others we had our hearts set on.

This morning’s Wishcasting Wednesday prompt from Jamie Ridler asks: What do you wish to choose?

And again, I feel called to the wisdom of turtle.  I wish to choose to keep moving, even when it is slow and to know as I make my way towards the ultimate dreams come true that I am where I am supposed to be.  My dreams feel like they are in my face, that I am walking in them, even though they have not fully materialized.

I have been studying with Kelly Rae Roberts in her e-course, Flying Lessons.  The course encourages us to better understand our dreams for a creative business and gives tools for working on the business, both within ourselves and in the business world.  The work is so intense that it calls me into the reality of my dreams each day.  One step here, another step there.  And as long as I am taking steps, I am already successful. There is no winning this race, no finish line to cross, the point is to stay in the game.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Staying in the Game

  1. Dominee says:

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  2. emmainbxl says:

    Beautiful post Rae, leaves me pondering…
    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also 🙂

  3. talita says:

    As you wish, so I wish for you also 🙂

  4. beautifully said. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also.
    walk in beauty.

  5. epapaluap says:

    Wow. I love the wisdom of the turtle. We need to take more time to tap into the wisdom of our dreams. I’m glad you do.

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you too.

    • Rae says:

      Yes, this was definitely one that spoke loudly. I don’t know that I would have made it through such a difficult time without giving up when we were house hunting.

  6. While reading your post I felt my own shoulders relax. Thank you. 🙂
    As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  7. Ginny says:

    I love your story and the message you gave all of us. It was perfect for me as I am starting to pursue my own dream of presenting an online workshop. When something is exciting to us (me), I want to share that dream and excitement with the world. But I have to remember your story and your wish today. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.

    • Rae says:

      Ginny, there is so much to learn about an on-line business…and the market is so dynamic. I look forward to hearing about your workshop. Please let me know as you are birthing into reality. I am excited for you!

  8. Lucy says:

    Wow, what a wish. I will remember this one. As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  9. beejee23 says:

    Beautiful, beautiful post. Whether you realize it or not, you post was written just for me today. As you wish for yourself, and as you inspire others, I wish for you as well.

    • Rae says:

      Beejee, thank you for your support. This blogging thing is rather magical… we circle around one another offering to lift one another up as we ourselves claim our own healing.

  10. I really appreciate your reminder that this is not a race – it is o.k. to take things slowly, one step at a time!

  11. Janece says:

    Just last night I was chatting with our Turtle. It’s a wee old box turtle that adopted us when I first moved in. She has so much wisdom to share…I’m happy you are heeding her advice! 🙂

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well, Rae!

  12. susannasays says:

    Oh Rae…you are soo successful. Just loved that story. I am Turtle Clan and well and for certain am I that (so says me mum). Thanks for a lovely read…As you wish for yourself, dear one, so i join with you in wishing for you also.

  13. Rae, this was such a great message! For most of my life, I was an all-or-nothing person. Recently, I’ve begun really learning that baby steps, slow and steady, are truly the way to go, and also to appreciate how precious each and every one of them is. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  14. Jodi says:

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also. I just love the images, esp. the hand!

  15. Rae says:

    Thanks, Jodi. I told myself last month that I would start making cards to eventually sell on Etsy. This is from a batch I conjured up last night. I appreciate the feedback!

  16. Mare says:

    I love your story and the pictures! Wonderful! As you wish for yourself, so I truly wish for you also.

  17. Nolwenn says:

    I love when dreams speak to us like this.

    As Rae wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  18. Liz says:

    oh, the turtle, my favorite animal, so wise…

    I love your story, thank you for sharing it with us. Your images touch me deeply and make me smile. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well.

  19. Cindi Clarke says:

    What a wonderful story! As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you as well!

  20. Kate says:

    What a wonderful reminder to take things as they come and not try to hurry through life! Sometimes it is sooooo hard to let things unfold at their own pace, but things always do work out, maybe not how we imagined, but they do work out. Thanks :o)
    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  21. Anna says:

    Hi Rae, your turtle tale really intrigued me as I have been getting several turtle signs lately. I stopped by to let you know that I’m hosting another Practical Magic blog party next month and would like to invite you to join again if you can. I also saw your video at the ‘Verbena’ botanical shop and really enjoyed it. Have a beautiful evening 🙂

    Anna (Frosted Petunias)

    • Rae says:

      Anna, I would greatly LOVE to participate! Thanks for the invite. The Practical Magic blog party was one of my very favorite blogging components of last year. It helped that I ended up synchronistically visiting the little town it was filmed in the week before the party. Oh man, am I excited!

  22. Rae, so very wonderful!
    As you wish for yourself, i wish for you also!

  23. tiatuenge says:

    I love that you are so in tune Rae. How beautiful that you are able to see the messages before you. As you wish for yourself I too wish for you. Slow and steady moves you toward your dreams. Love and light.

  24. onewomansmusings says:

    Hi Rae

    Another timely post! A great reminder to enjoy the journey and be thankful. Loving your images – the hand image is similar to something described to me today – maybe you’re my turtle! 😉

    • Rae says:

      Ahhh, Jordan! I love that. It is SO good to see you! Wish we could have tea together and chat. Ah, well. Big hugs from the USA, dear friend.

  25. sarahlulu says:

    Timely symbolism for me! Thank you.

    As you wish for yourself I so lovingly wish this for you also. xx

  26. reikiflower says:

    and the turtle wins the race … every time 🙂

    as you wish for yourself, i shall wish for you also ❤ gayle

  27. terry parvan says:

    love your banner. great site!

Leave a Reply

