Making Time for Making Art

Excuses, Excuses

I don’t have time to be an artist.  It is an excuse I have heard myself throw out on occasion. And perhaps, depending on what life event is spinning out of control, it might sometimes be accurate….but.  Often, I feel myself spit out the sentence and a part of me wants to reach out and pull it back in.

My artist husband diving into a collaborative art piece at the KSpace Contemporary Art Gallery.

I have so many things that I make time for that I don’t want to do and lots of things I do all the time out of habit.  Sometimes, honestly, I get a bit bored with my life.  How many hours have I sat in front of the television or the computer, mindlessly drooling over the latest reality show, while questioning when I was going to make something a bit richer out of my own reality?

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t always make excuses about doing my art. In fact, I have beautifully productive times in my life when art just pours out of me.  This last year has felt that way with my Polyvore Art.  Some nights would pass, and I might have whipped out four or five significant sets in the blink of an eye.  It has been a while since that has happened with material art (verses digital).

Time for a Change

You see, things are changing for me.  As I move into a place in life where I am building my creative business, I have to address the inclination not to make time for making art.

So what does it mean to MAKE TIME?  We say it all the time… I will have to make time for that.  Can you make time for me? Coming from a place of valuing creativity, I love the implications of this phrasing.  The artist in me has all kinds of ideas.  Carving time like it is a soft piece of wood asking to be sculpted or piecing time together as if moments were quilt scraps.  Building art dolls for each of the roles I play… art doll wife for time with my honey, art doll helper for the time at work, art doll manager for parts of my creative business, and art doll creatrix for the art maker in me.

My mind is sometimes so filled with idea that I think it might take flight at any moment!

However I visualize it, it is time to make time.  My priorities will be shifting over the next several seeks, as will the spaces I am creating in.  I am redefining where art happens so that I can bring art into my life and not just create when I happen to be at home.  But because I understand the importance of balance, part of making time for art will be making time for self-care and for honoring the cyclical nature of the creative process (I will be talking more about that in the near future.)

No matter where you are on your art making journey, I encourage you to become mindful of how you make your time.  What are you leaving out…and more importantly, what are you leaving in that might need to be redefined?

Show and Tell

I certainly don’t have all the answers regarding time management. I would love to hear what ideas this sparked for you or to hear what you are doing to make time for making art in your own life.

Creatively yours,

Rae

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in ARTivity, Creative Living, creativity, polyvore and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Making Time for Making Art

  1. Hi Rae,
    Coming over from Flying Lessons…
    What a great post. It has been such a frustration for me to figure out time. I will say this last school year was just nutty and the “time” was just plain old hard to find. I took a class from Pam Garrison and she said something very profound to me when I asked her how she found “time” to do her art. Her reply was, “we all have the same 24 hours in the day.”
    It pretty much hit me between the eyes. I have just as much time as she does. The SAME 24 hours. What will I do with it? Some days, granted we are not given a choice of how our time will go, (emergencies, etc.) but most days it is our choice as to how we will spend it. I feel I’ve been given another shot at “time” this school year and my choices will be so much different after taking this class!!!!
    Thanks for the thoughts!
    xo
    lynn

    • Rae says:

      Lynn, so nice to have one of the Fly Girls visit. Thank you for sharing the wisdom you gathered from Pam Garrison! So strange that we just don’t think that way most of the time. But it is true. The awesome thing about it is that it gives us all an equal playing field. Hope to see you around more, you are always welcomed here!

  2. Oh Rae! This post was surely heaven sent? Yes it is time for us all to connect with what is totally and real -ly authentic within us… to listen to the ‘creative’ voice and give it expression for its own sake not because it will help our ego be recognised but simply because without giving it voice, right here and right now we will suffocate a little every day until our life becomes so inauthentic as to be a mask of ourselves.

    As someone who has spent a lot of time justifying how and why I spend time with my talents – it is finally and absolutely liberating to be able to say:

    I spend time with my creativity because I need to for my spirit.
    I need to do this so:
    I can breathe
    have a life and generally be here.
    I no longer have to apologise for doing this.
    I am not being selfish I am expressing me.
    I do not have to put my creativity aside or channel it into forms that are designed to help others.
    I do not have to put others needs before me own.
    I do not have to do everything else before I am allowed to spend time with my creative self.

    I declare and choose my authentic creative expressive self first about all other things because when I do this I am caring deeply for my soul.
    I am nurturing the deep void of my being, the darkness where my soul seed sits to germinate and bloom into my magnificent self.
    I am feeding the part of me that has been so starved it has chosen to take in food to fulfill itself – and wondered why with this in appropriate substance it is always hungry.

    It is a wonderful, magnificent thing to accept what it is that I came to do and do it with complete abandon and delight.

    Yes Rae, you are so right – it is time!

    Bless-sings

    Melody

    • Rae says:

      Melody, I was sharing with some friends today about how much I value self-care, and for me, putting my “authentic creative expressive self first above all” is the heart of self care! Beautifully put!

  3. Making time – definitely on my mind right now!

  4. Is it possible that one of the reasons you feel you haven’t time is that deep down you are apologetic about what you make? You always write about “art” but if you use that word you set yourself up to fail, if you think more simply about making things (some of which won’t quite come off, and some will please you and nobody else, and if you are lucky some will be in the art category) you will find it much easier to do what pleases you, which is making things.

    • Rae says:

      Dixie, you have some thoughtful comments. I don’t feel they relate to me personally, though. I think about art in very Universal way, so that even my life is a work of art. That is the bigger picture in my blog message…life is art…which gives me the opportunity to use my creativity for making time. I do understand how it can be important to take the heat off by not applying the word art to what someone creates….but I feel like I came to terms with that a long time ago. For now, it is about making art…or thing making….a priority. Because before, I chose to have something else as the priority. Good to have you stop by. Always fun to engage a new perspective.

Leave a Reply

