Red Moon on the Horizon

Last night, the beached called me to visit, so I hijacked my husband and roommate for a whirlwind trip to the shore.  The heat of the day had retreated and sitting on a picnic table under the stars, I took a deep breath.  I have been on a wild ride the last month or so.  My artist self is growing by leaps and bounds.  Some of that shows up in the quantify of work I am doing, some in the quality of work.  But what feels most powerful is the work that goes on within.

Engaging creativity can happen on many levels.  It can mean literally creating a material thing.  It can be about creativity in your life.  But where I get sucked into the value regarding creativity is in looking at the inner story that happens as we work through the creative process.

The rear cover of the journal.

There is inspiration, fear, passion, and action…among other things.  And this last month has been a dance where those qualities lead me into places I rarely looked.  My dreams are busting at the seam.  There is some danger in just letting them simmer.  I am afraid I one will slip through my fingers.  So last night, I played with an old journal and a few tubes of paint to create a tiny book to hold my big dreams and ideas.  One jotted note pointed to the next until a good portion of the what welled up inside was released.

With my passion for artistic action ignited, I needed more paint, more movement across the canvas.  Today proved to be the day to make it happen.  As it winds down, I am amazed at myself.  What has been brewing inside for years is now coming to light.  Finally, the empty little Etsy shop I have coveted now has a chance for  life.

Image from the front cover

On the way home from the beach, I leaned forward to stretch and found that high in the sky, the moon was an eerie red.  My heart jumped.  I had seen it earlier and marveled at what a bright white it was, and how its light made white sparkles on the waves as they crashed against the shore.

What made the moon go red, I wondered.  And what made that image shake me to the core?  Upon arriving home, I found out that the drought that Texas (and other parts of the country) has been facing has led to wild fires in a number of places.  A smoky atmosphere was the culprit.

Looking up at the sky from my front yard, I felt twinned with the moon.  I wondered if I looked red to those around me.  I certainly sometimes felt as if I was in the midst of smoke, knowing that a fire burned all around me as I restlessly worked to address each one.

I think that red moon will stay with me for awhile, both as a haunting image and a powerful metaphor for the work I am doing. Ultimately, it will serve as reminder that when the smoke clears, all this work I am doing will illuminate my life.

photo by Rae Payne

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Red Moon on the Horizon

  1. I enjoyed this post – so relate to the feelings you expressed. You have a wonderful writing style!

  2. I love it when nature communicates with us! I’m glad you enjoyed your jaunt to the beach. Here’s to smokey red moons to remind us of the light!

    • Rae says:

      It is a tricky thing….writing about this. Disasters shouldn’t be celebrated….and yet, I found a bit of inspiration because of it. Thanks for visiting Irene. Always good to see you!

  3. nicely written. The idea what is important is the inner story that happens when we are engaged in the creative process is precious. Thank you.

  4. as i stare at this red moon tonight i feel my heart pound and my mind race.you must be in houston texas because the wild fires are right here and the red of the moon is chilling.EVerything about this day was chilling.The way you expressed your feeling about the vision in front of us is so in tune and right on.Any way thought id share!!

    • Rae says:

      Tiffiany, I am south of Houston, but the smoke has traveled pretty far and I think the fires are very wide spread. I agree, it is chilling. We have mostly stayed in doing art. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I think when something as strange as this happens, it can be unnerving and connecting with another can be comforting!

Leave a Reply

