Cultivating ART-itude

I have a daily ritual that includes beginning and ending my day by thumbing through some of the blogs I subscribe to.  I have a reader app on my phone that puts them right in the palm of my hands.  I started doing this a few months ago and have found the process inspiring because the blogs I subscribe to are so inspiring.

I subscribe to blogs for a number of reasons.  Some inspire me because they are about art or the art process, some get my attention because the blogger has an interesting personality or perspective, and some (like the one that threw me for a loop today) is about professional blogging.

As many of you know, I have been busy working on developing a creative business that I am planning on revealing at months end.  This push to redesign my blog and offer my art to the world has guided me to blogs with wisdom about reaching more people, offering them quality products, and maintaining a personal connection even as the numbers of followers increases.

One of the blogs I read this morning featured a post about a blogsite that helps on-line businesses grow and prosper.  The site sounded interesting, so I hopped over for a look-see.  Once on the site, I found that the writer communicated authority on her subject, which was backed up by the original blogger’s high recommendation of her.  She discussed having had a woman, a new blogger, ask her if it was possible to make money blogging, and then the author went on to talk about everything the new blogger was doing wrong….and how the new blogger needed her expertise to make it work.  I felt bad for the new blogger.  Embarrassed for her.  The woman who was an authority on blogging made some very strong points that made sense, so at the end of her post, when she offered an opportunity to sign up for her newsletter that promised tips and how-to’s, I entered my email and hit send. Then, the anxiety hit.

I sure didn’t want to be the new blogger who wasn’t doing it “right.”  I really needed the professional’s help.  But as the day progressed, I began thinking about the doubt she had in the new blogger.  Suddenly, I could feel my dreams for my creative business becoming foggy and losing shape.  I started to doubt myself and question what I thought I knew.

The voice was a familiar one.  It is that voice we all have that CHATTERS on about can’t and shouldn’t, the voice that squelches creative urges.  The voice warns about telling others that it exists, lest we be looked upon as insecure.  But the truth about the voice is that it is Universal.  It comes with the package of being human.  Sometimes it is louder and more paralyzing than others, and sometimes it says stop to things that are more important than others, in the scheme of our lives.

So when my dreams got foggy this afternoon, I knew it was time to cultivate my Art-itude, that inner force that subdues the Chatter Box.  Art-itude stood tall and calm within me.  It looked the Chatter Box in the eyes….and as Art-itude is apt to do, it spoke first from the heart, telling the Chatter Box what the Chatter Box never thinks anyone will ever see.  Art-itude gently said, “I know you are scared, and that is okay.”  Chatter Box became still.

Be Still.

Over the course of the day, the inner dialogue went back and forth.  Chatter Box offered its yah-but’s to which Art-itude responded with love and support for the creative dreams.  Sometimes the Chatter Box would go on wild raging adventures down the road of Must-Not, but Art-itude kept vigil.

In the end, my dreams are in tact.  We never know when or where self-doubt will strike or what will set it off, but if we learn to recognize a deflation in our dreams, we can quickly swoop in and protect them.  If we don’t, who will.

Have you intervened when your Chatter Box threatened your dreams?  What tips could you offer to help others recover the vision they have for themselves?

To more closely follow the progression of creative business, subscribe to this blog and consider subscribing to the new arts network I am developing by clicking the Creativity Tribe button on the right sidebar.  I will be previewing some of my artwork, the steps I am taking to create my creative business, and inviting you to participate in one of the most creative parties on the planet.

Creatively Yours,

Rae

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living, The Business of Business and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cultivating ART-itude

  1. This post was right on time Rae. Chatter Box tried to put a damper on my dreams just yesterday. In order for me to get back on the good foot, I had to sit myself down and take back control of my own thoughts. I have my dreams written down and posted in front of my computer (where I spend most of my time) and whenever Chatter Box appears, I look at that piece of paper and day dream about how my life will be – very soon 🙂

    • Rae says:

      Dream boards are awesome forms of redirection for our Chatter Boxes. I love that you have yours right in front of your face. I do a monthly dreamboard with the Full Moon, through Jamie Ridler Studio. This month will focus on getting this dream in front of me even more fully!

  2. rosemary says:

    you keep on doing what you do so beautifully, the hearts that you attact naturally will help you along the way as well. I would be honored to place a link to your Blog on my website as well to spread the word. So enjoy beyond words seeing your dreams come true. YOU go Si”star”.

    • Rae says:

      Rosemary, thanks for the boost! You always know just what to say. I will let you know when the new site comes out. I would love the help in spreading the word. Besides, you will fit right in with what I am planning! Big HUGS!

  3. melody says:

    Thank you for this timely blog post. You have a thoughtful and creative blog and you are being you in the world – it is scary (Chatterbox’s take on this) and you need to protect you (Chatterbox’s self appointed role!)
    I am so glad to see your Art-itude is truly strong and clear – what an inspiration for those who subcribe to your blog.
    I wish you abundant subscribers coming along the cyber channels to your door!

    Bless-sings
    Melody

    • Rae says:

      Yah, Chatterbox is an important part of the inner world. Among other things, serves as a great alarm system for when we need a boost. Thanks for the well wishes and continued support!

  4. Sherry K. says:

    So cute and so true! I started blogging first time ever February, 2010. It’s been a wild but bumpy ride. I love it. I have to have an intervention with myself almost every time I post…(-: As an artist I am used to that chatterbox in my head. I have learned whatever I do, learn from my mistakes, don’t freeze up, and keep on creating. Thanks for sharing!

    Sherry

    • Rae says:

      I love the idea of having an intervention! lol In the past, I might have thought that the Chatter Box meant something is wrong with me. But now, like you, I know it is just part of the process and that it is the willingness to Keep On Creating that shows my healthy creative spirit!

  5. kate hawkes says:

    Rae
    I subscribe to your blog and always enjoy it! I am writing to ask if you would be willing to post a guest blog (and it can be this one as it is perfect) on my blog! I have a book, Personal Magic, coming out shortly and feel that your insight and humor is a wonderful gift for my readers and so would like to link us up. Check out my website and blog etc at http://www.wellnesswithkate.com and do get in touch with me to let me know if you are interested.
    Be well and keep creating!
    Kate

  6. Pingback: Guest Blogger- Rae « Kate's Blog

Leave a Reply

