Art Attack!

Last Saturday my artist hubby and I dragged an old table in from the dining room, opened it up and covered it with fresh craft paper.  I tucked the sides in neatly and taped them down so that the tape couldn’t be seen from the top.  Yep…kinda compulsive.  The first piece of art I did reflected that same need for control.  But soon, the paint was flying, and I was recklessly attacking the page.  I haven’t stopped.

Late nights and early mornings are spent creating.  The end place for some of it will be the home or office of some person who needs something I needed to express.  Other items will get tucked away in a portfolio as a witness to the quantity of work I am doing….a witness to me giving action to my dreams.  Some might call them warm-up’s, others mess-up’s.  For me?  They are simply art.  I don’t have to judge it.  It is all valuable to me, because the process is valuable.

For now, here are a few of the pieces I have been working on.  The first two pictures are the same work.  The top image is a drawing in oil pastel.  I was at the coffee shop with my roommate Lisa.  When I got home, I thought it was done.   I didn’t need to do anything more on it.  Then I got the mineral spirits after it, and it totally transformed.

The second picture is done in prisma colors.  It reflects themes that shows up in my artwork often, twisted, quirky women with things on their heads.  I have scanned it and am altering the image by layering a variety of mediums over it.  It is fun to see what I can do with one image.  I will post some of the results in the future.

Creating in the new studio has been so inspiring!  I am looking forward to getting lost in it again this weekend.  This weekend will also be my first meet-up with some of the other artists who I met during the Flying Lessons E-course by Kelly Rae Roberts.  I will let you know how that goes!  But knowing them as I already do, I can guarantee great connections.

The e-course was so much fun and so energizing that I decided to sign up for another course.  I am giving myself some time to set things in motion from what I learned in Flying Lessons, though.  I have signed up for a mixed media workshop with Suzi Blu that will start later in the year.  If you don’t know Suzi, she is a great artist and exhilarating creative.  I am looking forward to stepping into her world for a time.  As I learn more about the class, I will share it with you.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What are your creative plans?  

What projects have you been dreaming on or actually doing?  Keep in touch.

 We would LOVE to know!

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living, Expressive Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Art Attack!

  1. Ann Marie says:

    Ah girl, these are great. I love your enthusiasm for creating. If I had know how happy painting would make me, I would have started at age 2! Heading over to check out Suzi Blu.

  2. Lori says:

    That’s awesome! Need some mineral spirits. 🙂

  3. kelly says:

    Thanks for the wonderful post! I am one of your fellow fliers! I just signed up for one of Suzi Blu’s portrait classes. I totally suck at drawing faces but want to learn how. Thanks for hipping me to Suze! Have a great weekend. _kelly

    • Rae says:

      Oh, Kelly! I wonder if we signed up for the same one. It would be fun to do the class together. I love your art and think of your steam punk beauties often (really I do!) Thanks for stopping by. Always a treat to have Flyers swoop by!

  4. onewomansmusings says:

    Thanks for continuing to share your art, I’m enjoying sharing your creative journey, so inspiring. I’m now undertaking a journalling course to re-connect with my writing.

  5. Pingback: Creativity Zones: Sanctuary of the Studio | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

