Practical Magic by Moonlight

Welcome to my little party.  I say little because this is a party for two that I am letting you peek in on.  You see, seven years ago tonight, I met my artist husband under a full moon while camping  out at a wild life preserve.  The evening, like this one, was magical.

Sister Jo Bangels Play Your Drum

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This Polyvore set, created by my artist hubby, depicts the night we met.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Some of you have found your way here through the Practical Magic Blog Party.  Won’t you leave a comment so I know you were here?  I hope you won’t feel too left out of the party, but how could I share such an intimate date with the whole world?  I chose to write about my anniversary, because connecting is at the heart of the movie Practical Magic.  Not just connecting though, destined connections.

I now pronounce you.....

That is what if felt like all those year ago when I met hubby.  We were in costume, I, as a gypsy, and he; as a Renascence artisan.  I was telling a story about falling in love, and up, he walked.  We have been walking together ever since.

Tonight’s party for two began in the kitchen.  We worked together on creating magical treats, cutting and shaping crescent dough.

Crescent Moons, Pointed Hats, Raven Claw, and Twisted Brooms


Treats tucked away in a bowl made of glass that looks like a black, lace spiderweb. A gift from his granny whose birthday is also today.

Along with this, we decided to have pomegranate juice, in honor of the change in seasons, but not just any kind of pom.

{Homemade}



Have you ever had homemade pom?  Tonight was our first time.  It was amazing!   Pom from the store is pasteurized, that means it is cooked and has a bite to the taste.  It is a blood red color.  But freshly juiced, it is pink and sweet.

In honor of our special day, I crafted a handmade book inspired by the movie.

Inside, I have written about what practical magic means to me.  I think connecting to someone is magical, but I don’t think it is practical.  I think it takes courage, especially if it means connecting in a way that tries not to over power the other person.  And there is nothing practical about courage.

Thank you for visiting.  I am adding a video (below) from last year that was shot in the little village where Practical Magic was filmed, Coupeville, WA.

Verbina’s Botanicals: an interview with the current owner the herb shop in the movie.  She says her shop was perfect for the movie.  Find out why!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For more videos from Coupeville, follow this link.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Before you leave, I want to invite you to subscribe to my blog.  I am very close to launching a large website designed for anyone interested in art and creative living.  It will be called Creativity Tribe, and I think you will fit right in, especially if you like parties.  Subscribe, and I will send updates about the site’s launch.  I would love to have you visit.   You can also like the brand new Creativity Tribe Facebook page to keep in touch with what is happening with the site.

Hope you have a magical hop around the Practical Magic Blog Party.  I look forward to visiting your hearths and homes.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Practical Magic Blog Party and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Practical Magic by Moonlight

  1. Misses Peach says:

    Oh what a happy post…so nice to meet you. I love your Polyvore set too…it is my favorite site to play in…come visit me and see mine for the practical magic fun! good luck with your website….

  2. lisa skiles says:

    Happy anniversary! Your crescent baking is fabulous and you have inspired me to try it (the homemade pom juice too). Stop by my enchanted oven to have a PM cookie or two.
    Magical hugs,
    Lisa

  3. Edie says:

    What a nice post I loved reading it thank you for your baking tips they have inspired me to try it too. So glad to have met you!!! Have a magical day

  4. Jo says:

    Happy Anniversary and best witches for many more! :o) A lovely post too, everything looks delish!

  5. Jo says:

    Opps! Forgot my party link! Happy 2nd Annual Practical Magic Blog Party! Hope you’ll drop by: http://digginaround.blogspot.com/2011/09/practical-magic-blog-party-post.html

  6. Moncha says:

    Happy anniversary. Love is a wonderful thing, isn’t it ??
    I love the things you’ve made and the pom looks great.
    Have a magical weekend.

  7. Ms Lilypads says:

    What a handsome couple! I’m going to start looking for a recipe for making pom juice.

  8. Oh my, what a very lovely post, and oh so magical. Have a wonderful anniversary and many more years to come. Thank you for sharing. Please visit me:
    momentsinaneye.blogspot.com

  9. galyn says:

    Hi, I’m new to blogging and until now have not spent much time reading them, merely running into a few here and there until I found the PM blog. It is one of my favorite movies and Halloween is my favorite time of year. I’m not having a PM party tonight-I don’t even have a clue how to go about it and it’s just me and two menfolk here. Maybe next yr. I’m an artist and I do write and am putting up a new blog of my own to have a place to speak my mind. I am in East Tx in a small town. I too saw the red moon and figured it had to be from the fires. It was an oddity.
    I looked at your video on the town and it was great–it looks like an amazing place to live and I love the Owens house. I would love to live in a house just like it–and who knows–maybe someday I will–anything can happen.
    I am in the very beginning stages of learning about graphic art design online and I do mean I’m taking baby steps on the how to’s. I spent last night checking out various art sites and saw wonderful art and design. I’ve mostly painted portraits with acrylics or used pencils/colored pencils etc. Don’t have an art tablet yet. Will have eventually. In the meantime I’m playing with dressing up a blog and doing things only to undo them !!! Oh well — I’m finding lots of inspiration to keep trying

    • Rae says:

      Galyn, so very happy you shared your story with me! I remember the curiosity and newness of just starting my blog. It hasn’t been so long now, and I feel I am growing up fast. I hope you will stop by again and let me know when you want to share your blog. I would be honored to visit. Looking forward to connecting with you again. ~Rae

  10. Congratulations and Happy Anniversary! I very much enjoyed peaking in on your fun! Thank you for letting us visit. Loved your post!
    Sylvia
    http://www.anaboocreationsbysylvia.blogspot.com

  11. Wishing you both the best of magical anniversaries. I love your witchy baking it looks yummy and your story is delightful.

    frith
    J x

  12. LuLu Kellogg says:

    What a magical anniversary you have! I love the photo of you and your husband!

    Thank you so much for sharing your post with all of us for the Practical Magic Blog Party! Lovely to visit with you!

    I will go check out your new website!

    Cheers!
    LuLu Kellogg

  13. What a delicious party! And your hubby and you look adorable. Now I’m craving pomegranate juice and something fresh from the oven. My Piano Man will be very happy. I’m baking again 😉

  14. bertie says:

    I feel honored that you would include us in the sharing of your wonderful anniversary memories…I think your post was wonderfully romantic and the essence of the message of “Practical Magic.” Falling in love is the best magic ever…making it stay so alive and young like the 2 of you, is beyond magical…thanks for sharing…you really warmed my heart! blessed be! Hope you stop over my way to enter a chance at one of my spiced lanterns and to take a peek at my post! bertie
    http://www.awildberrywitch.blogspot.com

  15. Theresa says:

    I love the personal slant you’ve given to your Practical Magic post!!!! And that is such a sweet book you crafted. 🙂 Please feel free to come and visit with me, too. 🙂
    http://faeriemooncreations.blogspot.com/2011/09/practical-magic-blog-party-2011.html
    Sincerely, Theresa

  16. Willow says:

    Happy Anniversary and what a wonderful party you are having.

  17. OOOooo wonderful post….magical life experiences…love polyvore too! Great collage. Love & light to you both Trace )O(

  18. Betsy says:

    So lovely to meet you and your husband. Thank you for sharing your lovely anniversary with us. I love the crescent roll art. So cute. I may have to do this myself sometime soon.

    Blessings.
    Betsy

  19. Jessica says:

    Happy anniversary! I’m so glad to know you both and to have taken part in some of the process. And tell your honey: Good witches come to those who wait. (good thing he was patient)

    Much love and happy autumn!
    Jessica

  20. Celia says:

    What a beautiful post! Thank you for sharing your special night with us….I love pomegranates and your little snacks you made…I might have to try that!!

  21. Happy Anniversary! lovely post..come visit me

  22. melody says:

    congratulations! What a wonderfully romantic story about how you met. I can see you were weaving your love magic and he found you irresistible – judt like everything else you put into this blog!

    Bless-sings
    Melody

  23. Hi! I am linking from the Practical Magic blog party. I love your videos (I looked at the archived ones, too). You and your hubbie are adorable. Fun post!

  24. Susan G says:

    trying again.
    I remember your viseo from last year 🙂
    Happy Anniversary! ( i love stories of FATE…hubs and I met by FATE also)
    I am a subscriber and I like creativity tribe on FB 🙂 Happy Mabon!
    BB,
    Susan

  25. Anna says:

    Hi Rae, first let me say that this is such an amazingly special post. Thank you for sharing the story about you and your husband. I can’t think of a more perfect one to go along with our Practical Magic theme. Happy Anniversary to both of you. You are a beautiful couple. The magical treats and pom juice look divine and your art book is a wonderful and personal tribute to the story. It’s an honor to be invited to your party and I thank you again for coming. I enjoyed your video when I saw it the first time and I’m so glad you shared it here. Wishing the two of you a beautiful weekend and a magical Autumn 🙂

    Anna

  26. Karen says:

    Life is totally full of Magic if you let it in… Sounds like you and your Renaissance man have !!
    Love your PM book !!
    Off to another party !!
    Bless,
    Karen

  27. My Trinkets says:

    I hope you had a magical anniversary, everything looks good! I’ve juiced other fruits and veggies but never pom..will have to try it.

    Thanks for sharing your evening wih us.

    Sylvia

  28. Storybook says:

    Happy Anniversary!! Thank you both for sharing such a wonderful time with us. And those crescent roll shapes … I love it! Hope you don’t mind but I am sharing those at the Halloween Party!

    • Rae says:

      What fun! I would be happy for you to share them with a link back to this post. I think it is important for us to honor one another’s creativity by giving credit. I am so glad you stopped by.

  29. Birgit says:

    Happy Anniversary — that photo of you and your husband is so lovely! Great cookies, too. 🙂

    Magical Times,
    Birgit

  30. Happy anniversary!! I love those rolls…I’ll have to try that!!

    ♥ Melissa @ Melissa’s Meanderings

  31. Renee says:

    Happy Anniversary! I just love your crescent roll shapes, what a great idea. Brightest Blessings!

  32. ~Que Bella~ says:

    Happy Anniversary! What a lovely post. I love your crescent roll idea! Thanks for sharing.

  33. Ann Marie says:

    You two are so freakin cute I can’t stand it. Love the story of how you met. Sweet, good stuff!

  34. Rachel says:

    What a wonderful post. I loved hearing about how you and your husband met and your obvious happiness together. 🙂

  35. Wizardess says:

    So sweet! V. cool to include the video of Sally’s actual shop.

  36. Just stopped in to check out all the Practical Magic activities. Love everything, you are way more than awesome. I had fun reading the posts, checking out the art work on the page, just beautiful!
    I need to do this next year. My most favorite though had to be the…..Crescent Moons, Pointed Hats, Raven Claw, and Twisted Brooms. I am so ALL over that. Can’t wait to make them with my son. We can make them for Halloween too. Ummmm.

  37. What an enchanted party. I love what this evening means to you and your hubby. Yall’s story is magical. May you walk together many more years. Please fly in for a visit.
    Spells and Wishes,
    Wendy from wonderland
    ….ps…I adore the crescents. Adorable

  38. MIsty says:

    Pomegranates!! Yum!! Thanks for sharing and sorry so late!

  39. Rinni says:

    Oh me oh my, your rolls look delicious and I must admit that my mouth watered at the thought of fresh squeezed pomegranate juice! Sorry I’m visiting rather late, it sure does take a while to make my way down the list with the twins vying for attention! I’m looking forward to your new website! I’ll be signing up for sure! I’d love for you to visit my PM post if you get the chance. 😉 Stay magical!

    http://rinnisplayground.blogspot.com/2011/09/magic-is-practical-ode-to-practical.html

  40. Happy Aniversary Rae,!!!!!!!!!!!!! love your blog, and your pictures. You and your husband are artists??? what kind of art does your hubby do?? just curious. That pomegran juice looks delicious.
    Too bad fruits in Barbados are so expensive, and I have never seen this fruit in the supermarkets, but I see the trees all over…………. I tryed to plant one , but it did not work…
    You are great writing…………. Have a great aniversary………….Yasmin Flyer Fellow from Barbados

  41. Pingback: Me at 43 {part one} | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

